Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Gaїa – The Womb of the World

with 3 comments

DSC07006

I took this photo yesterday, a photo of my garden shed.  As you can see, the aluminum shed is covered over with the green life of nature.  In a way, it is not much different that what I see in many places around the world where the works of man, roads and structures, deteriorate and become taken over by nature.  The power of the feminine.  And, it is real power.

For men not in touch with the feminine, for those who resist and deny out of fear of being consumed by the feminine, there is a harshness that rears its ugly head in patriarchy.

It is a common knowledge among most of the men and the women I know, that in “most” marriages, the woman is in fact the boss.  The common expression goes: “If mama is happy, everyone is happy; if mama isn’t happy, no one is happy.”  In this modern western world, men willingly carry the purses and bags, wear the clothes picked out by their mates, are learning to “express” themselves, and are entering the “beauty”  market in a major way so as to lose the “beast” within.

I don’t think that there is a rightness or a wrongness to any of this as that would presume I have answers.  I don’t.  I do know that men that are “in love” or “in lust” are in a hurry to enter into the cave, the dark and moist depths of the feminine.  I think back to stories I have heard of hermits who have abandoned the world of relationships and how many of them have crawled into nature’s caves.  In these caves they also escape the masculine.

Neither matriarchy nor patriarchy are solutions to the messiness of eros versus logos.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your shed; do you think the desire for the “cave” is what makes men(certainly in England) love their sheds?
    I rather like the photo by the way. Very funny.

    viv66

    June 27, 2009 at 2:26 am

    • Most definitely. In Canada, the shed is more typically replaced by the garage or the workshop. The cave is a place of retreat.

      retiredeagle

      June 27, 2009 at 7:10 am

  2. My shed is so full of things like lawnmower, bikes, garden tools and flower pots you can’t actually enter but when we built it we both wanted to leave it empty for a retreat. There isn’t really room for a second shed without losing garden space and we don’t have a garage. I do envy my dad with his workshop at the end of the garden…

    viv66

    June 28, 2009 at 2:21 am


Leave a Reply

