Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

One’s Personal Myth – One’s Personal Response to the Collective

with 2 comments

This is the Arenal Volcano.  The second day in La Fortuna, allowed for a rare viewing of the full volcano, a view that steadily improved as the day progressed.  Plans were made to again make an effort to see the trail of lava in the evening, but this time from a different vantage point, one that wouldn’t retrace the previous hour long hike through the cloud forest jungle of the night before.  I’m not interested in repeating the same thing over and over again.  If anything, I like re-approaching the unknown in different ways and on different pathways in hopes of catching a clearer glimpse of some otherwise hidden truth.

As I mentioned earlier, I grew up with the ideas and beliefs of the Catholic Church.  I believed.  I thought that I was destined to become a spiritual soldier of Christ.  Yet, in the process of growing, somehow, the belief and the faith in the Church faded.  I somehow lost my way.  Attempts over the years to re-capture some of that belief and faith failed.  I tried attending an Easter service in Avignon, the home of the Church for a hundred years, all to no avail.  For me, the Church had simply become a huddling of other lost people, people who had no courage to become individuals responsible for discovering and living their own truths.

“… wherever the response lies along the scale from rejection to integration of inherited truths, it is a response in living touch with the power of the individual’s personal myth. In the end such power is, for Jung, the only power that enables the individual to respond to the collective as an individual. “Resistance to the mass can be effected only by the man who is as well organized in his individuality as the mass itself” (Jung, 1958, p. 278, italics Jung’s). (Dourley, “Jung and the Recall of the Gods”, Journal of Jungian Theory and Practice, Vol. 8, No. 1, 2006, p. 44)

My response to the call to spiritualism, a response of rejection of the heritage of my family and community allowed me to breathe.  I found myself on a strange pathway that somehow felt right though I found no other footprints on that pathway.  Now, as I walk this pathway I do meet others as their paths intersect and sometimes parallel mine.  My response of resistance is more about resisting my own fear, my own doubts than it is about resisting the community and the inherited truths of family and culture.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just found you today…and I love what I see so far. Your posts resonate deep inside…a similar voice with a similar question…doubt and searching and finding something strange and different and opposite of that with which we were raised…. Thank you. I’ll be back for more and more….

    seekraz

    March 21, 2010 at 7:30 am

    • I will look forward to your return and your comments. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      March 21, 2010 at 9:02 am


Leave a Reply

