Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

On the Road Racing Against a Storm

with 3 comments

Well, this is a second go at this post as the photo and parts of the original post disappeared leaving a mess here.  Interesting.  Well, this is a photo of the Red Deer River and valley near Morrin, Alberta.  It was time for a rest stop in order to stretch the legs and of course to get a few photos.  I couldn’t wander too far as it was very muddy.  I didn’t stay long as there was a blizzard on the way and I wanted to get to my son’s home before travelling became a hazardous adventure.

Spring is not my favourite season.  It is a season that bounces between winter and summer.  The season is unsettled and I can’t do all that I want to do, all that I expect that I should be able to do.  The land isn’t ready – muddy trails restrict movement placing some areas off-limits.  If anything, spring just makes me feel impatient and restless.  It’s as if with the lifting of winter’s icy grip, the world is wound up like a spring ready to leap into full life.  Yet, there needs to be some transition time, time so that one eases into action lessening the risk of injury.

The human spirit isn’t much different.  The movement from the shadowlands into the bright light of active consciousness must pass through the borderlands, a psychic demilitarized zone.  But, in this zone between depression and full engagement with the world, one meets with occasional storms as well as brief moments of full presence as though to teach us, to remind us of the need for balance.  Hopefully one will remember and not get so caught up with the extremes of either polarity.

And so, I returned to the car after taking a brief break for this photo (and a few others) before continuing on to my son’s, mindful of the approaching storm and also mindful of the forecast for a warm and sunny week-end to follow the storm.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. transitions and transformations are always stormy – it seems it is the price we have to pay to become something else.

    Urspo

    April 14, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    • And that is the key – be aware and ready for the storms rather than be taken by surprise. The storms are not punishments, but are good things that prepare the way for “better.”

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 15, 2010 at 6:40 am

    • Weather, for me, has always been an interesting analogy to my unconscious. It is, by and large, not all that predictable. Much of the time the weather is somewhat benign, but can change(particularly out here in the Sandhills of Western Nebrasaka), in a very short time. And, as with the “Butterfly effect” in the weather my unconscious can be disturbed by unseen influences far from my consciousness. So I try to keep a “weather eye” on the weather and my unconscious. Sometimes an unexpected “change” in the weather reminds me to check my unconscious for changes.

      Jferric

      April 15, 2010 at 7:59 am


Leave a Reply

