Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Wondering and Waiting

with 8 comments

I thought I would have taken photos yesterday when the opportunity presented itself, but the mood and desire were absent.  Sometimes one disappears into a space where there is little energy, little desire . . .  not quite what one normally would call a depressive moment, but more of an almost absent moment.  I walked for a while down the streets of Calgary while waiting for an arranged meeting.  My mind was stilled, a pleasant calm.  As I continued my stroll through and older urban area I noted the homes, a mix of nouveaux and fading older homes.  I wondered about which homes would most feel comfortable.  It wasn’t much of a contest.  The older homes won out.  In the end, it is about being comfortable in one’s own skin rather than trying to desperately find some sort of happiness in renovation, a quick fix by working on the exterior.  I guess one could say it’s about keeping it simple.

So, with a lack of new photos, I returned to those that I took en route to my son’s and found this one that deserves to have its place here on the blog site.  For me, this photo felt best as a black and white photo rather than in full colour.  Black and white is about keeping it simple rather than cluttering up with colour that distracts.  This is what I often look for when sitting back and trying to evaluate the next part of my journey.  For me it is about breaking it down to the basics and eliminating the distractions.  What do I want?  What do I need?  What are my options?  Keep the questions and the options simple.  Reduce them to either-or decisions.

With this as my mindset, I entered the meeting and let the experience happen as it was supposed to happen.  Then, I took the experience and let it settle for the rest of the day and waited to see what, if anything the dream world would say to me.  Curiously, sleep was difficult to come by and dreams were evasive.  This morning I again allowed all of this to steep like what one needs to do if one is to enjoy a full-bodied cup of tea.  The wondering and waiting paid off.   A doorway opened in terms of making a decision.  I decided that it wasn’t yet time to do a shift.  The time wasn’t ripe.  This allowed me to keep the future open.  When the time is ripe, then . . . until then, I will remain wondering and waiting.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 16, 2010 at 10:07 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hmm. makes me think.

    abha iyengar

    April 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

    • Yes, that’s the whole point about all of this, isn’t it.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

  2. “The time wasn’t ripe”.
    Sometimes we do just have to accept that.

    viv66

    April 17, 2010 at 8:45 am

  3. There is a certain detachment, even dissociation, that occurs in those moments of wondering and waiting. That sort of tuning out, but into the sharper shadows that become apparent in black and white photos. I often find the whispers of poetry in that place, and moving to that different rhythm also find those sharpened details that lead to solution or resolution. Thank you, Robert.

    Elizabeth

    1sojournal

    April 17, 2010 at 10:07 am

  4. What type of camera are you using?

    • I am using a point-and-shoot camera called a Sony Cybershot, model DSC-H50 with 9.1 MP and a 15X optical zoom lens.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 18, 2010 at 10:08 am

  5. I’m impressed by your skill. I don’t care so much for the close ups, but the landscape shots are excellent.

    • Thank you.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 18, 2010 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

