Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

SoFoBoMo 2010 – Setting a Goal

with 8 comments

Thankfully, this isn’t a recent photo, but one from almost two weeks ago upon my return to Canada.   I went looking for this photo as it was one that I felt needed to appear here.  Looking out my window the sunrise is applying a light coat of golden paint to the fields and the few buildings that I can see, a huge contrast to this scene.  Yet this is the scene that my head is experiencing in spite of what my eyes see.

I have seasonal allergies and they are now raging.  Snow mold on the now exposed grass and dead leaves aren’t nice to me, neither are the constant dry and dusty winds.  The poplar trees are beginning to show new leaf buds and that will make the situation worse in short order.  Of course, like any normal person, I take appropriate medical aids to make the allergies more bearable but they only add a fog and lethargy as they do their thing in allowing me to breath easier.  I say all of this, not to garner any sympathy (I get enough of that at home), but in order to contrast and inner and outer world.  Though we often think of the mind as separate from the body, both are intricately linked and affect each other.  Think of the yin-yang symbol where opposites are constrained tightly together yet maintaining their unique separateness within the container.

All of this is to serve as an intro to my thoughts of the next book,  Through a Jungian Lens:  Sol and Luna, which will be this year’s project for SoFoBoMo.  I have chosen to focus on Jung’s essay, “The Personification of Opposites” from volume 14 of the Collected Works, Mysterium Coniunctionis.  I plan on taking the photos and writing the text likely starting on June 12th, the date of the first full moon during the two month “fuzzy month” for the SoFoBoMo project.  And, like last year, I expect that I will bring much of that stuff here in my posts.  Other than the topic and the ideas from CG Jung, nothing is yet decided.

So, in spite of my allergies, I am still able to focus enough to find my way down my particular path.  Tomorrow’s post will likely return to its usual, more reflective nature.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A friend of mine just gave me the gift of a book– the alchemist. It was interesting to me because I just happened to have found the author’s blog and found it interesting enough to leave a comment. The book’s theme emphasizes the individual path. I’m not in a very poetic mood today, but it is a beautiful book, and well worth the read.

    • Hi, I’ve read the alchemist and several other books by Paulo. I used to go to his site but have given up on it. I guess it got too big and too impersonal for me. I like the closer contact with readers. Paulo never responded to all of the comments as it would have been an impossible task given the extent of his readership. I agree about the book being interesting. I think it was his best book.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 22, 2010 at 4:47 pm

  2. Love the photo Robert!

    Ah yes, SoFoBoMo time again, good that you’ve made me think about it.

    Ron Dowd

    April 22, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    • I’m looking forward to seeing your project progress as well. I’ll be posting more on the intentions for my project over the next several weeks as a way of helping me focus on being ready for the start of my fuzzy month.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  3. I remember reading the Personifcation in Jungian training – I should get it out and reread it now I am older and hopefully more wise. I bet it would be far more revealing.

    Urspo

    April 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    • Yes, it does seem that the books we read have hidden things for us to be discovered in re-reading.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 23, 2010 at 6:07 am

  4. I just started posing for SoFoBoMo! My photographer has decided to use me for his book subject! 😀

    Samantha

    June 21, 2010 at 4:30 pm


Leave a Reply

