Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Dream Is a Happening in Space

with 4 comments

This is a different kind of photograph for me.  I rarely use the camera in the car.  Yet on this morning just a few days ago I had a thought that this might be one destined or this blog.  I wasn’t too sure what the focal point was, whether it was the scene in the rear view mirror, the mirror itself, the clouds in the sky, or the bright red tassel that dangled from the mirror.

The idea that this concept would make for a good series of photos for the SoFoBoMo challenge came to mind and so the photo was taken with that thought in mind.  I did stop in the middle of the highway in order to take the photo and realised that any such series of photos would have to be almost staged rather than natural scenes that I would snap as I passed them by.  So, I will have to rethink this idea.

In looking at  the photo now, I get a sense of an alter universe, the landscape of dreams.  Here is what Robert Bosnak has to say about dreams:

“A dream is not a story, not a movie or a text or a theater play.  A dream is a happening in space, an articulation of space.” (Bosnak, A Little Course in Dreams, 1993, p. 10)

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 28, 2010 at 6:55 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert, You photo speaks to me of space, it’s exciting! There is much that is deliciously left out of the frame, I really think you’re on to something great for SoFoBoMo. Love that sky…

    Regards,

    Ron

    Ron Dowd

    April 28, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    • Thanks for the positive response, Ron. I was beginning to think the idea was weak . . .

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 29, 2010 at 8:49 am

  2. I like the approach – reveals “where I am coming from” in a straightforward way, but has figurative implications. Keep at it, would be my advice, maybe even expand the initial approach (a shot in a mirror in a variety of settings, not just from within a car) – and not a bad idea for SoFoBoMo, either. Good luck!

    Karen

    April 29, 2010 at 10:48 am

    • I’m trying to work in the concept of logos and eros, the sun and the moon, into this project as a way of understanding self. Thanks for joining in the dialogue.

      Robert G. Longpré

      April 29, 2010 at 11:45 am


Leave a Reply

