Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A World Must Be Destroyed For New Life To Emerge

with 7 comments

I took this photo late last spring when my grandsons were visiting.  I had thought of how this photo would be good for this blog site in terms of camouflage, but in letting the photo sit, a different reason has sort of come to the surface.  Camouflage seals with masks, hiding what is present in order to protect.  Now, I want to look at the bird that is within.  What is hidden behind the mask?

Of course, in this case it is a bird waiting for the right moment when it can be born into the outer world.  In our human condition, this is often the case as well.  We build a shell around ourself, somewhat like a cocoon so that we are protected in our local community.  At some point, one has to break out of the cocoon in order to become more than the possibility that lies within the cocoon.

“The bird is struggling out of the egg. The egg is the world. Whoever wants to be born must first destroy a world.” ( Hesse, Damian, as translated by W. J. Strachan)

Yes, there is some destruction in going forward.  There are deaths as we cast off the old for the new.  There are also possibilities that are destroyed in making a choice to follow one path versus another path.   Doing nothing also destroys worlds, the worlds of “what might have been.”

So, as I looked at this egg, I knew that this perfect world within a world would soon be destroyed whether or not a bird would emerge to begin a new life, to create new possibilities and prepare the cycle again in the creation of new life in new eggs, either as father or mother.  Should the bird not emerge, that perfect world would be destroyed none-the-less.  There is something vital to learn from this and apply it to our own lives.  As the old saying goes:

“We are damned if we do; and, we’re damned if we don’t.”  Not to choose, not to be conscious is a choice with its own versions of hell.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You always seem to post something on the day that I need to see it.

    Paul

    May 18, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    • LOL! Thanks for that, Paul. Isn’t it amazing that what I need to post for my “self” is also what is needed for an “other?” This is more than meaningful coincidence, in my opinion.

      Robert G. Longpré

      May 18, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      • That is true. Perhaps one day, I’ll relate my story to you. I’ll put it on my list of things to do. 🙂

        Paul

        May 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  2. I am such a fan of yours. I just love almost everything you write about and almost all the photos you take.
    I hope I am not sounding like one of those all-over-you kind of people, for I am surely not that, but still would like to tell you how grateful I am to have been led to your site, I don’t know how.

    abha iyengar

    May 19, 2010 at 1:43 am

    • Your appreciation of my photos and writing are welcome. My hope is that they may also be of some use in serving as guideposts on your inner journeys.

      Robert G. Longpré

      May 19, 2010 at 7:11 am

  3. When we emerge from the shell as a newly hatched chick, this is the beginning of another journey, of more learning and the cycle renews every time we ‘hatch’. Challenging, frightening and exciting at the same time.

    Lotus Light

    May 19, 2010 at 9:25 am

    • Thanks, Lotus.

      Robert G. Longpré

      May 19, 2010 at 11:27 pm


Leave a Reply

