Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head

with 2 comments

Yes, it’s raining again here n the Canadian prairies.  This is an unusual state of affairs as this is the land of sunshine and wind, a semi-desert country that is now so soggy that farmers are actually having a legitimate reason for complaining about the weather.  The rain is allowing me more time to read and think.  However, perhaps it makes too much time for this in terms of “comfort level.”  In some ways, it is almost as if the “shadow” is too close to the surface, too close to consciousness.

“Perhaps the most functional definition of shadow is that which I am uncomfortable in my culture or myself.”  (Hollis, Swamplands of the Soul, p. 68)

Darkness, dampness, and the closed-in feeling smells, feels and tastes like a depression, not much different than an atmospheric depression that brings on the rain.  The darkness limits vision and we tend to see what is inside when we can’t see what is outside.  And so it cycles until a high pressure system lifts the darkness and allows the sun to shine again.  Instinctual or biological or both, it doesn’t matter.  The psyche must deal with this mood.

We are asked to bear what is often felt to be unbearable.   This is the task awaiting us in the swampland of the soul we call loneliness – to bear the unbearable.  But in doing, by “going through,” one breaks the hold of the primal fear that holds sway over much of our lives.  To go through it with the insight and courage of an adult, to make friends with it, somehow, breaks that tyrannous hold.”  (Hollis, Swamplands of the Soul, p. 64)

Yes, it is about loneliness.  The rain and the darkness forces one to deal with the loneliness that is “self.”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Hollis quote resonates. I have also found that if you ignore the discomfort, the universe ups the stakes until it is impossible to ignore any longer. By finally not bearing the unbearable, then we change direction and move towards growth. If we continue to accept and try to bear it, then we make no change.

    I wonder about loneliness though. As a child I moved frequently and so friends were always being ‘abandoned’. I retreated into a world of books and horses, and inside my own head. So alone-ness was frequently a factor, loneliness… fairly rare.

    My closed in feeling most often comes in a group of people where I feel ‘inferior’ – which can just be caused by a bad day. I disappear, my voice literally squishes up 2 registers, and I get the shakes. When I feel fine that same group of friends/people will have a positive effect on me.

    Deborah Howard

    June 12, 2010 at 9:53 am

    • I have the same sense of “alone-ness” That feeling of inferiority is not about an intellectual inferiority, but more of a social inferiority as though I am “disabled” in terms of being one of the group. Thanks , Deborah.

      Robert G. Longpré

      June 12, 2010 at 10:11 am


Leave a Reply

