Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Father Sun – Fathers and Sons

with 4 comments

I finally took a photo that would fit in to the theme of the sun and moon that I had planned as my SoFoBoMo project for this year.  At this point I don’t know if that theme is a go.  It all depends on what other photos I manage to find while taking many other photos during my time in British Columbia.

The original photo of the sun in late afternoon just over a crest of a low mountain along the Shuswap Lake system, was not a particularly good one.  Truth is, it came close to being deleted because of the flare.  But this morning, rather than deleting it, I saw something that begged to be noted.  So, with a bit of patience and editing, the image that was calling me emerged.  This version of that original image is the result.  This is sun, Sol, as archetype.

“The potentialities of the archetype, for good and evil alike, transcend our human capacities many times, and a man can appropriate its power only by identifying with the daemon, by letting himself be possessed by it, thus forfeiting his own humanity.  The fateful power of the father complex comes from the archetype, and this is the real reason why the consensus gentium puts a divine or daemonic figure in place of the father.” (Jung, CW Volume, par 744)

Personally, I am not much in favour of being possessed by anyone or anything, let alone an archetype in the guise of a god, or a god in the guise of an archetype.  I know that I have a brief span of days and years in which to celebrate in my own unique ways, my humanity.  But that said, I don’t really call all the shots here.  I am not really alone in this game of being human.  Though I am an individual, I am also “part of” something more.  And in that “something more,” is an inner presence that transcends self and other to embrace . . . Words here seem to be so inadequate.  The photo hints at the answer.

I wrestle with things that aren’t objectively encountered.  How does one deal with the presence of power and processes that defy common sense and basic scientific logic?  My mother, grandmother, great-grandfather would respond that it isn’t to be dealt with, but to be accepted, even embraced.  These people, dead and living, believe in psychic phenomena and power.  I have consistently denied all of this as more New Age claptrap, but . . .  deep down, within, I know otherwise.

I am a son and have felt the power of the father in my father.  I know that when he was alive, he was a flawed human.  Yet, there was a numinous radiance around the notion of my father that touched me and helped form me into who I have become as a father in my own right.  My son has had to deal with the flawed human that I am and the archetypal radiance in which I act out my individual role.  I am more than the objective reality father he has experienced.  Like it or not, the aura of the father surrounds me as it had surrounded my father and his father before him.

So, is this aura that surrounds a person only visible, unconsciously, by the child?  Or is there more?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So much of what you have written speaks to my soul.. Thank you

    fibi

    June 15, 2010 at 2:33 am

  2. correct me if I’m wrong -Being possessed by an archetype means the ego has lost possession – not a good thing for the psyche.

    Urspo

    June 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    • You are correct, Urspo, not a good thing at all.

      Robert G. Longpré

      June 16, 2010 at 7:57 am


Leave a Reply

