Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Active Imagination

with 2 comments

Yes, this is a doctored photo.  Besides doing normal editing and playing with light and filters, I decided to use “Paint” in order to remove the post and a few other distractions from the scene.  Now, you are likely wondering what this photo offers to the blog.  The truth is, it isn’t an answer that I can logically explain.

First, it just feels right to me to post it here.   I guess it has to do with the notion of two lines meeting or of a line coming from two directions and producing a third direction, a downward direction.   What do I mean by this?  Well, if one follows the theme of Logos and Eros, the masculine archetype and the feminine archetype (consciousness and the unconscious) joining in a marriage in an alchymical marriage, the emerging line would be the individuated self.   Another possibility floats through my mind is of Logos being met by Eros.

In a way this is how I can understand how out of two comes a third, how out of logos and eros comes consciousness of self.

And as I follow the line down, there is a leap downwards to a black dot, the “Self?”

Or is it in reverse?  Am I, the nascent self, the black dot that must somehow make the leap into the trinity of Father, Son and Holy Ghost?

There are no answers, only questions.  Trying to impose answers on the questions defeats the process of active imagination for me.  The real challenge is to become aware of the questions and allow newer questions to appear on the fringes of consciousness.

In case anyone wants to know, this is a sign found on the country road just outside of the small prairie village in which I live.  And yes, I know that I didn’t deal with all the elements of the image . . .

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very interesting.

    abha iyengar

    July 3, 2010 at 12:32 am

  2. Hi Robert – great to connect here again. The vertical and horizontal lines are described in sacred geometry as “the first thought of God” – which is where some your questions are leading. In Christianity there a couple of crosses (I think St. John’s) that add a third line that symbolise the third dimension of this primal thought. There are some delightful videos on youtube that describe this.

    Of course I am not providing an answer by saying this…;).

    Hope you are well, Robert, thanks again for these excellent posts.

    arjunasoctupus

    July 3, 2010 at 6:58 am


Leave a Reply

