Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Images are Powerful Things

with 11 comments

I took this photo yesterday evening about 9:30 pm.  Sunset comes late in the day here on the summer prairies.  Most of the sky was dark grey because of overcast skies that had brought rain on and off during the day since mid-afternoon.  I was fortunate to see this small break in the clouds and to have the scene appear between the power lines and telephone wires that cross the lower sky from my back deck.  Most of the time, these rare breaks were hidden behind trees or else sliced in half by the wires.  I waited for the right moment a few other times only to have the opening of light basically disappear by the time it found this small opening between wires and trees.  And when it did come after my waiting patiently, a bird decided to sit on a bare branch thus adding to the moment.

Images are powerful things.  I have just finished my SoFoBoMo project and have put the completed project on Issuu.  You can view the completed project by clicking on this link, or by clicking on the image of the book found on the right.  I will be revisiting this project later with the intent of turning into a larger work, a book, in the future.  I am still finding images that would “fit” into the “Sol” and “Luna” theme that the project focused upon, such as this photograph.  This morning I took another moon photo (to be presented here on another occasion) of the moon waning.  When I think of all the moon photos and sun photos taken over the years, I find that the passion, the pull to these numinous objects, has increased.  There is little doubt that there is something of note for my “self” to be uncovered by paying attention to these images and how they find them expressed in my photos.

In this photo, I see myself as the little bird in the centre.  Why?  Well in the grand scheme of things, my level of consciousness is quite limited.  There are many contents n the personal unconscious to be uncovered which would still leave a large portion of the personal unconscious left in the dark.  Of course when one’s psyche is also part of the collective unconscious, the size of the conscious ego shrinks even more.  That said, size doesn’t matter.  It is about being present and being authentically individual, about being true to one’s self.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert, this image is stunningly beautiful. I am not sure why, but it resonates with me very strongly.

    I would like to see this framed, on my wall. Money is very tight right now, but I thought I would at least start by asking if you have your photographs available for purchase. Please email me at jesseheretic@yahoo.com when you have a moment. Thanks.

    Jesse Mendes

    July 3, 2010 at 9:53 am

    • Jesse, I have sent you an e-mail. Thanks for your appreciation of the image.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 3, 2010 at 10:59 am

  2. ‘It is about being present and being authentically individual, about being true to one’s self.’

    Appreciate these lines.

    abha iyengar

    July 3, 2010 at 10:42 am

    • Thank you, Abha.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 3, 2010 at 11:00 am

  3. It’s so true that images are very powerful things. Both the images that we physically see and the images that we imagine. It is true that images have energy and the more time we spend looking at them, the more energy that is garnered by these images. Great stuff!

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

    TheIntentionalSage

    July 3, 2010 at 11:07 am

    • For me, it is more than the recouping of energy than it is about uncovering some of my own dark spaces and allowing some light in. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I do hope that you will find your way back here again.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 3, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  4. Robert,
    You write: “Of course when one’s psyche is also part of the collective unconscious, the size of the conscious ego shrinks even more.” Are you implying that my psyche is connected to(a part of) the collective unconscious?

    John Ferric

    July 4, 2010 at 7:45 am

    • The short answer, in my opinion, is yes..

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm

  5. You strike me as far conscious than you let on, you are being modest I think. I am honored to watch you spread your wings and grow in this way.

    It reminds me of what my analyst said when I asked him ‘how long will this take? (the process of growing in consciousness).

    He replied, ‘If you are lucky, a life time”

    Urspo

    July 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    • I am hoping to be lucky enough to last as long as my journey, or for my journey to last as long as me.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

