Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Between the Wires

with 4 comments

As I sit on the deck behind my house, I often look at the sky when there are clouds.  At times, my camera is beside me and I am able to capture images that lead to my finding a reason to post here.  As I look into the sky, I am met by a series of wires and it becomes my task to find the heart of the image between the wires.  I have often thought of a series of photos that could be called “Between the Wires.”  But like most thoughts, they shape shift like these clouds and the intention dissipates into nothingness.  The resultant mess of this is nothing more than chaos at its best, or a very messy psyche at its worst.

Wherever chaos exists, small differences become magnified over time.  Wherever differences multiply, predictability disappears.  Wherever predictability disappears, identical dynamics can generate vastly different results.  So it is no wonder that minds that run on the same thought eventually end up at loggerheads with each other.”  (Van Eenwyk, Archetypes and Strange Attractors, p. 16)

Now that makes some sense to me.  I know that I have developed routines that seem to have worked and worked well for a longish time.  Yet, at some point, the routine stops working as well.  Rather than change my routine, I redo the same routine with more intention, more energy hoping somehow to get a different result.  Of course, my intentions are not enough to change the result.  What is most frustrating is that I “know” this at an intellectual level.  When counselling, I ask people if what they are doing “works” for them.  Of course their response is “No.”  That opens the door for trying something different as to continue doing the same thing doesn’t change the fact that the “doing”  doesn’t work.

Ah ha, lesson to myself – try something different.  Think outside of the patterns.  Don’t get stuck between the wires as there is a lot of life out there.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As Robert White says in his book, Living an Extraordinary Life … take risks, take responsibility (not to be confused with blame)! 🙂 He mentions about doing the same thing over and over again and getting stuck in our belief patterns and not being able break out of them and thereby severely limiting our potential. This ain’t a dress rehearsal!

    Paul

    July 6, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    • Nice to hear echoes in the words of others. Thanks, Paul.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 6, 2010 at 3:05 pm

  2. To achieve new results we need to make sure the changes we make are genuine, Moving house, divorcing etc do not create changes if we continue the same patterns in a ‘new’ life or place. recognising that we have carried our patterns with us when we do something different is the difficult part.

    Lotus Light

    July 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    • “Moving house, divorcing etc do not create changes if we continue the same patterns in a ‘new’ life or place. recognising that we have carried our patterns with us when we do something different is the difficult part.”

      That is a hard lesson to learn, and an even harder lesson to live. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 6, 2010 at 5:38 pm


Leave a Reply

