Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Thin Strip of Consciousness

with 9 comments

Seriously, this is all there is to see of the prairie village in which my house is to be found.  Sometimes it almost overwhelms thinking when one stands back and sees how minute the presence of consciousness is in contrast to the unconscious.  When I speak of the unconscious, I don’t limit it to the personal unconscious or even the collective unconscious of a culture.  I include the whole of nature.  If one goes back to the beginning, before everything there was only darkness.  And somehow out of the darkness, “presence” began to take shape, a presence that was unaware, unconscious of its SELF.  It was only with the creation out of the nothingness of light that there began to be differentiation of SELF from the mass of otherness.

“In the beginning God created heaven and earth.

“And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep.  And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.

“And God said, Let there be light:  and there was light.

And God saw the light, that it was good:  and God divided the light from the darkness.

“And God called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night.” (Genesis Chapter One)

As I look at the thin layer of space that the village takes up in comparison with the fertile soil and all of the minerals that lay beneath the soil, I am made a bit humble.  As I wander through the village and see how little space within that village that humans actually physically occupy, I am almost overwhelmed with a sense of our puny presence.  Yet, I know that for all of our presence in body, even that amount of space is vast in contrast to the level of consciousness enjoyed by the collective.  How can anyone ever become so inflated that they see themselves as superordinate to the planet that they dwell upon.  How one can be anything but humble when faced with all of the universe is something that is hard to wrap my mind around.

Even within my own head, I sense that consciousness is but a sliver of the possibilities.  Yet, that doesn’t dissuade me from continuing on with my personal journey in search of more awareness, hoping to find my rightful place in the larger universe.  I know that my microscopic contribution to the making the darkness light is as valuable as the greatest and the least among all humans.  It is enough that I “am” and continue to “be.”

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Flying gives me the same sense of how small we are, as people, as builders even. It gives me the perspective to realise then how small my worries and concerns are.

    And yet, at the same time, there is pleasure and strength in knowing that our brains and hands have created a machine that can give this perspective.

    For me, this means – yes, maintain perspective – I am small, the universe is beyond enormous. And yet, in some way, I (we) can still create and move and grow within it. I (we) are not without some level of power.

    Lotus Eater

    July 8, 2010 at 8:16 am

    • Lotus, it is the “high” in realising that even if one is only a “thin” part of the consciousness, one IS a part of that consciousness. No one can be large, but one can be absent. Choices.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 8, 2010 at 10:03 am

  2. Oh Robert, you are such a party pooper! Here I am, enjoying a bit of a natural high from my accomplishments (and a small amount of head swelling), and you come along with a cold washrag and reduce me to my proper portion.

    All joking aside, circumstances stepped in before you got to my wee small party. You just put paid to my experience with your very earthy voice of reality. Thank you, again, for the synchronicity, and that cold splash of truth.

    Elizabeth

    1sojournal

    July 8, 2010 at 8:22 am

    • I rain on my own parade often enough as well, sometimes too often as far as my ego is concerned. Maybe I should just chuck the whole lot and swallow some prozac and live in a fuzzy bliss.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 8, 2010 at 10:02 am

      • Ahh, but then what would happen to the searcher and seeker that is you, or the teacher and the healer? You can rain on my parade anytime, but don’t stop being you.

        Elizabeth

        1sojournal

        July 8, 2010 at 8:14 pm

  3. It’s interesting reading you post this morning Robert, while looking at Douglas Harding’s work again (http://www.headless.org/experiments/the-mirror.htm) in preparation for a post of my own. I like your way of putting things, “a sliver of the possibilities”. Thanks.

    Ron

    Ron

    July 8, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    • I am looking forward to that post, Ron. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 9, 2010 at 2:06 pm

  4. I think it was Woody Allen who said Consciousness may not be all it could be but it was still the best place to get a good steak.

    Urspo

    July 8, 2010 at 10:51 pm


Leave a Reply

