Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Fire In The Sky

with 5 comments

The skies were on fire a few days ago when our neigbours were over visiting.  And as always, I rushed for my camera when this scene presented itself.  The visible roof lines are from my house and garage.  Sunsets on the Canadian Prairie are spectacular when there are clouds in the sky, but not so many as to obscure the colours of the setting sun.  Scenes such as this lift my spirits.  I guess you could say that they touch the spiritual centre within me.  And at these times, I can say like Jung did, that I don’t “believe” in God, I “know” there is a God.  This experience of “God” isn’t because the scene points to a God in the heavens.  Rather, the scene finds a way of resonating within the depths of my psyche.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

July 19, 2010 at 7:41 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are always so many colors and so many ways to shoot sunsets. Every one seems unique. Great job.

    photographyfree4all

    July 19, 2010 at 9:33 am

    • Thanks for your comments and welcome to my blog. I hope that you enjoy coming again. I found your photos on your sight simply beautiful.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 19, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  2. I don’t believe in God either, in the sense you mean, but at times I know there is a God. Faith doesn’t come into it.
    Sadly, Thomas that I am, the moments pass and I return to doubts.
    be well.

    Viv

    July 19, 2010 at 12:35 pm

  3. I think my concioussness is a creation of it’s different parts. Some of them have faith, like my inner child and Regine (a part of me which loves Sören Kierkegaard). And some of my egostates are atheist parts, like Thomas. So I am not a religious person, but I am a friend of Christian religion. I do not hesitate to integrate in my spiritual path ideas from other religions. I think that in dilalectical process of my diffrent egostates, I can once in a while like raise above my egos, and in that transpersonal state can reach mysterious connectness feeling. In those sudden moment I am a part of something big,boarderless entity, which I can call God. In that state all the conflicting ideas and belifs are in harmony.

    katisar

    July 21, 2010 at 5:47 am

    • Thanks, Katisar, for adding to this dialogue. Humans are so complex it is no wonder that philosophers, psychologists, anthropologists, sociologists and scientists have spent eons trying to decode the answer of what a human is.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 21, 2010 at 7:16 am


Leave a Reply

