Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Before the Sun’s Rising

with 2 comments

At the hour of dawn, before the sun’s rising from beyond the horizon, I sat in the middle of a field communing with Nature.  At that hour filled with purity and beauty I lay on the grass, what time men were yet wrapped in slumber, disturbed now by dreams, now by awakening.  I lay there seeking to know from all that I looked upon the truth of Beauty and the beauty of Truth.”  (Gibran, “Lament of the Field,” A Tear And A Smile, p.66)

Before putting Gibran’s book aside, I decided to read a bit more.

And when my reflecting had set me apart from the flesh, and my imaginings lifted the covering of matter from off my inner self, I felt my spirit growing, drawing me near to Nature and revealing to me her hidden things and teaching me the language of her wonders.”  (ibid)

As you may well guess, I took a significant pause after writing these words of Gibran’s before daring to add my thoughts to this post.  All that comes up for me is to finally be still with the moment and let the image and the words do their work of talking to my soul, and like Gibran, “set myself apart” in order to allow the spirit to grow.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “… I felt my spirit growing, drawing me near to Nature and revealing to me her hidden things and teaching me the language of her wonders.”

    What a magnificent quote. Thank you for sharing it.

    It echoes an Epicurus quote I blogged about recently and also love:

    “If you live according to nature, you will never be poor; if you live according to opinion, you will never be rich”

    Not as poetic as the Gibran quote, but both speak of the need to “set oneself apart” in order to truly understand one’s self/meaning.

    beyondanomie

    July 29, 2010 at 6:58 am

    • Hi 🙂 I just visited your site and like what I saw there. I hope that you continue what is a great start at an ongoing blog site. I totally agree with doing something you have a passion for rather than “retiring” to do nothing.

      Robert G. Longpré

      July 29, 2010 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

