Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Little Things of Life are Important

with 9 comments

A beautiful wildflower that I noticed while out with my grandchildren and children on the shores of Lake Diefenbaker, made for a good photo opportunity.  My eldest child has a new camera and so I went with her in search of photographs.  Of course, most of the photos were of the family and activities.   And that was as it should be.

I want to paint this little scene for you, the reader, so that you can get a fuller sense of who I am.  It is too easy to create an image of another person based on appearances and words.  I imagine that the portrait I portray here doesn’t show much “balance” at all.  Well, I am not “stuck” on psychology or on individuation tasks.  I am a normal man in late midlife doing the normal things of life.  And that is important to realise, especially for my “self.”  It is too easy for me to get caught up in “journey” and not actually be an active participant.

I have to honour the inner world and the outer world for balance.  I have to consider my body as much as my mind.  Now that the children and grandchildren have gone to their respective homes, I am enjoying the peace and quiet as well as the activity of returning our home back to its normal state.  There are little chores that need attention and reconnection with neighbours that await both of us before the packing begins for the journey to China.

The little things of life need attention before they become problems.  I need to be present and aware of the outer world as it bumps into me and as I bump into it.  In honouring the little things, I find that my life in general becomes that much better.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve noticed the same thing. I respect the way you’ve centered that theme around a flower. It seems as if I’ve gone through the exact same thought process, just a different flower (down here in the South, we have what we call “Black-eyed Susans.”
    I recently finished a five week blast through a Physics Course and an Oceanography Course. It was interesting that the page on Jung (was only able to skim, not read entirely at the moment as my mind is in hyperactive mode) mentioned the physicists explanation…
    Anyway, back to my life, I finished the course, and it was such a relief to be back home, in the presence of my children, my husband, my messy house and life, the “real” things that make me “who I am” — for some reason that is the way I think of them– that every time I drove them somewhere, my eyes instinctively sought the black-eyes susans. I tried to think of why that is, and I remembered that, as a child, growing up in the backwoods of Arkansas, those are the flowers that came back every year, rain or draught. They were by no means exotic and certainly not the loveliest of our wildflowers, but they were always there. One year, there were very few, due to a drought, and I was surprised to discover how sad it made me that these ordinary flowers were so scarce. I couldn’t bring myself even to pick one because I was afraid they wouldn’t be back.
    Coming home, for me, is some type of much needed ritual. I need the getting away, I need the getting out there and being with others to discover but I also need to come home to the quiet of myself, being present in my family’s lives, looking out the window to the Black-eyed Susans across the street.
    I may envy that your wildflower is purple, but only for a moment until I realize how comforted I am by the flower that is, perhaps not exoctic, but my symbol of comfort, safety and home.

    • Well said, Munchkin Mom 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 9, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  2. Simple – but great! This shot does portray the setting of your writing. Great job.

    photographyfree4all

    August 9, 2010 at 9:12 am

    • Thanks for the positive comment. I visited your site and found that we both talked about the same theme today, in our own separate styles. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 9, 2010 at 3:03 pm

  3. I don’t think you have become ‘stuck’ on psychology or individuation tasks. Many of these posts seem to me to spin off from what has happened in the day-to-day.

    What our greatest danger is, for me, is to be ‘stuck’ on the day-to-day and not move into the inner world. The day-to-day is enormously demanding. To move beyond it takes real commitment.

    For me your posts blur the boundary between inner and outer. Really “seeing” something like an eagle or a flower, light on a leaf, a road winding into the distance inspires the inner world; the ideas and understandings gained from that then inform the outer.

    Lotus Eater

    August 9, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    • Thanks, Lotus, for bringing it all back into perspective. Sometimes I get too immersed into the writing here that I don’t have the objective perspective to accurately make judgment calls on what I am actually doing in the process.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 9, 2010 at 4:54 pm

  4. that was lovely. thank you.

    Urspo

    August 9, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  5. Dear Robert, all,
    Thank you for the lecture Robert and the others for their contributions.
    The words on “Balance” have transported me to the 4 Personality Types of Jung.
    As an I S F J – I count my blessings and am fortunate that by times I am able to become a little bit more conscious when my Unconscious counterpart Intuition wants to take me on a journey that I don’t really want.
    With this and to become aware when my sides functions of Feeling and Thinking are at work makes me aware that I still have a long way to go to find Balance in the true “Introverted Sense” (smile).
    However, on my journey to get Balanced it is good to be aware of your presence and makes me aware of the things that unites us as a sort of striving family and the feeling of unity that is in everything.
    These words are not written under influence of the shadow of my Intuition (smile).
    I am sure that in difficult times this awareness will support me and I hope all of you.
    Gratitude from Ric.

    Ric Brijl

    August 10, 2010 at 4:26 am


Leave a Reply

