Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Potency and the Path to the Soul

with 2 comments

As I took this photo, I didn’t know what the impulse was, I just knew that I took it for presentation here.  So dutifully, I prepared the photo by cropping it and centering the wildflower.  And then, I have let the photo sit on my “desktop” ever since quietly in the background while using the other photos you have been seeing here.  After a dream during the night which had nothing to do with the photo (or so I thought), when I sat down to keyboard and began to check my e-mail and do a bit of browsing such as a weather forecast check, I felt another headache fill my head.  Refusing to reach for a pill, I opened up the blog site and clicked on “new post” and then selected this photo without any inner debate.  Today, it chose to presented.  Some things are too mysterious for me to wrap my head around and try to figure out.  I just accept the mystery and go on from there.

The same thing happened in terms of what text, if any, would I use with this wildflower on a prairie river bank.  For some reason, I bypassed most of my usual books of interest and picked up a book I had barely started reading many months ago, a book by Eugene Monick called Potency: Masculine Aggresion as a Path to the Soul.

Potency, that makes sense.  The flower is definitely a potent source of new life.  And its shape,?  As a representation of phallus, it does suggest a heightened potency.  At the beginning of chapter one, Monick has a series of quotes which I want to present here before going much further.  The actual source (book. page) of each of these quotes is not known, nor do I have the “head” today to go in search of them.

The most beautiful emotion we can experience is the mystical.  It is the power of all true art and science.  He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead.”  – Albert Einstein

And the second quote:

I think we can say that in and of itself an act of knowledge could never give access to the truth unless it was prepared, accompanied, doubled and completed by a certain transformation of the subject; not of the individual, but of the subject himself in his being as subject.”  – Michel Foucault

Now, allowing for the mystical, allowing for the energy and mystery that showed up in my dream, I sense the mystery of the masculine potential, and curiously the feminine energy which pulls the masculine.  It is all about “potency.”  One talks of a man as being potent in more than in a sexual manner.  A man is potent in being able to make things happen, as a man charges first to a finish line, as a man stands tall as hero against all manner of bad guys and monsters.  And it is this potency that needs to be drawn upon by a man as he dares to approach the feminine.  This potency does not require violence on the feminine, rather, it requires due respect and awe of the “other” which is forever cloaked in mystery as the source and womb of life.

I am reminded of how in how the awe of coniunctio I am both filled and emptied – a paradox and a mystery – and how I feel I have connected with my soul.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sometimes the neccessity of the universe requires that we move this little pebble from one place in the path to another. so we pick it up, put it in our pocket and then later forgetting why we picked it up -or not – find it again and drop it off at its new home.

    have you tried the pressure points on the thumb and big toes for headaches?

    your entry today vividly called forth the Taoist yin/yang symbol we are all so familiar with…

    it is like this too don’t you think… your words the vehicle, the symbol a pocket and i am now the pebble… knowing i will be in a new place today as a result.

    sproutingcrow

    August 15, 2010 at 6:54 am

    • It is good to know that my words have value, as a vehicle to help move the pebble to its new rightful home for the next moment. Thanks Sprouting Crow. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 17, 2010 at 7:45 am


Leave a Reply

