Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Butterflies and Transformation

with 6 comments

I travelled back into my archives to find a few photos that I want to present here for the next few days until I get my new camera and take some new photo.  This photo was taken in January while I was in Costa Rica.  I managed to find a few good photos of different butterflies while in Costa Rica as well as hummingbirds which I have not used in posts here during the three months I spent there staying warm.

As with the dragonflies and damselflies, the butterfly spends much of its life in a different form before it actually turns into a beautiful flying wonder.  Why?  Well, it is in this flying stage that there is the ability to procreate.  It is in this flying stage that one mates.  And this makes me think of love.  It is no accident that we use butterflies as symbols of love.

Here is a song that comes to mind, “Elusive Butterfly of Love.”

You might wake up some morning
To the sound of something moving past your window in the wind
And if you’re quick enough to rise
You’ll catch the fleeting glimpse of someone’s fading shadow
Out on the new horizon you may see the floating motion of a distant pair of wings
And if the sleep has left your ears
You might hear footsteps running through an open meadow
Don’t be concerned it will not harm you
It’s only me pursuing something I’m not sure of
Across my dreams with nets of wonder I chase the bright elusive butterfly of love

You might have heard my footsteps
Echo softly in the distance through the canyons of your mind
I might have even called your name as I ran searching after something to believe in You might have seen me runnin’
Through the long abandonned ruins of the dreams you left behind
If you remember something there
That glided past you followed close by heavy breathing
Don’t be concerned it will not harm you
It’s only me pursuing something I’m not sure of
Across my dreams with nets of wonder I chase the bright elusive butterfly of love
I chase the bright butterfly of love I chase the bright butterfly of love

There is no question that love transforms.  And this is all as it should be.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this butterfly of love and the song.

    abha iyengar

    August 15, 2010 at 9:44 am

    • Thank you Abha.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 16, 2010 at 7:13 am

  2. The process of transformation from larvae, pupa, chrysalis to butterfly is fascinating and not easy. Our own transitions are not easy, and we hope we are past the larval stage.

    The sad thing about the butterfly is that it’s beauty only lasts one day. It is sad to think of the death of love as well. Is love doomed to last only a short time as well?

    Elisabeth Kubler-Ross noticed butterflies in another context: “…in Maidanek, in a concentration camp, where I tried to see how children had gone into the gas chambers after having lost their families, their homes, their schools and everything. The walls in the camp were filled with pictures of butterflies, drawn by these children.

    It was incomprehensible to me. Thousands of children going into the gas chamber, and this is the message they leave behind–a butterfly.”

    http://www.healthy.net/scr/interview.aspx?Id=205

    These butterflies created a transformation for her personally. But for the children they were the butterflies of freedom – and in their case a real transformation.

    Lotus Light

    August 16, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • I hope everyone who reads here will click on the link in your comment and read the interview with Dr. Kubler-Ross, author of On Death and Dying, a book I read in the early 1970s. Butterflies of freedom. Thank you for the depth you bring to your comments.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 17, 2010 at 7:59 am

  3. I am coming across the theme of transformation constantly at the moment within my life; both in terms of visions and dreams and in synchronous coincidences and in readings of oracles. Like the caterpillar I live in dread of the process of breaking down into caterpillar soup so that I may become….what? I do not know.

    Viv

    August 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    • Transformation is hard on a body and on the spirit; just ask any frog or butterfly or . . . One thing for certain, where we have been, the way we were, can never be recaptured. We are stuck with the new way of being until we have the will and the energy to continue the path of transformation. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm


Leave a Reply

