Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Méli-Mélo – Bits and Pieces of Ordinariness

with 4 comments

A second hummingbird photo to bring here for you.  Like the last photo, this one was taken in Costa Rica.  This photo talks to me about being warm, about sunshine, about summer.  It has been quite cool and cloudy with more rain than is normal.  For a typical prairie summer, we have had more than 400% the normal rainfall – more than four inches in the last week alone.  The gray skies and the frequent showers limit the walks through the countryside and do not provide good light for photography.

Today I am supposed to get my new camera so I imagine that regardless of the gray skies, I will be out taking photos to learn the feel and the capabilities of the new camera.  I have to admit that I am excited about the new camera.  I also bought a book by Tom Ang on photography as I will likely have time to study the art more in the university year to come while I am in China.

In less than two weeks I will be back in my apartment in Changzhou, Jiangsu, P.R.C., back to a work week of sixteen hours in classrooms filled to the brim with young twenty somethings who are filled with dreams of perfect lives, perfect loves and enough wealth to make these dreams a reality.  The university is a place of charged energy and I am valued for the gifts I bring to the craft of teaching at the university.  This will be my thirty-third year practicing the art of teaching.  For those that want to follow my “Teacher in China” blog, click here to link to Laowai Lens.

In case you are wondering, I will be continuing to post here at Jungian Lens almost daily.  I have already packed eight books by Jung and post-Jungian writers.  I have also packed my Chinese dictionary and a few calligraphy brushes as I will be working on learning Mandarin with better focus this year.

Looking back at this post, I am surprised at how I have left out almost all reference to Jungian psychology in what could be seen as a celebration of ordinary things.  And in realising this, a smile comes to my face as I know that this is an important psychological process – making room for the hodge-podge, the méli mélo of life.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 17, 2010 at 7:28 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The ability to celebrate ordinariness is what really creates happiness. If we only celebrate the ‘big’ stuff, then our capacity for happiness is truly limited.

    This small stuff also feeds our inner being with familiarity and a level of comfort. Without these things, when the changes and tensions come, we have little to fall back on. Taking a photo of a bird or a leaf can help gain a sense of control, or give us the space to consider and analyse the issues.

    Jung took days off from writing, ate, talked, walked and lived a life as well. 🙂

    Lotus Light

    August 17, 2010 at 9:36 am

    • I agree – sometimes one needs to go easy on oneself and slow down and be present for the little things which have as much value as the big things.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

  2. so will your new camera (!!) & photo choices be following you to china as well (i hope)?
    these are really some lovely images you have offered into my day (thank you).

    sproutingcrow

    August 17, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    • But of course the camera will come with me 🙂 Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 18, 2010 at 7:18 am


Leave a Reply

