Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Flying Like a Rock

with 6 comments

This image was taken with my old camera, just a few weeks ago.  The colours on the rock captured my attention and so I took the photo and then left it sit until I felt a need to bring it forward here.  It is something that talks to be about being grounded.

Today, I fly to Toronto where I will visit my son and his young family.  My wife and I will visit for two days before boarding another plane bound for Shanghai, China.  Obviously, I feel “up in the air” at this moment, not in the least grounded like this rock.

I used to think that being grounded was more about being in the outer world at the expense of the inner world.  I didn’t realise that being grounded is about being balanced.  This balance requires that I honour both worlds.  To be grounded is to find some kind of accord between consciousness and unconsciousness, to accept both the masculine and the feminine within, to be aware of one’s light and one’s shadow.  With balance, one can be more present in both worlds.

And so, I fly through the innerscapes and am at the same time, grounded in outer reality.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 26, 2010 at 6:34 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. safe travels… may you only lose in transit what you no longer need…
    lovely photo – thank you…
    do you think rocks’ sense of themselves is grounded?

    sproutingcrow

    August 26, 2010 at 6:56 am

    • Que sera, sera. Thanks for the thought. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 27, 2010 at 10:20 am

  2. I second Sprouting Crow – may your stay in the land of the Dragon and the Peacock honors you with more wisdom.

    Opa Bear

    August 27, 2010 at 12:54 am

    • Also know as the Middle Kingdom, or the Big Silly. 🙂 Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 27, 2010 at 10:21 am

  3. Love the photo. Have a safe but fulfilling trip, we look forward to your thoughts and images.

    themichaellamcollection

    August 27, 2010 at 6:26 am

    • Thanks. So far the journey has been as normal as one can expect while travelling.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 29, 2010 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

