Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Skyline On the Water

with 6 comments

A long walk along the shore of Lake Ontario yesterday yielded this scene that I decided was to be today’s photo.  It is simply a marker of where I am and what I am doing.  The walk was made with five of us covering several kilometres of shoreline before heading back to my son’s home in the heart of Toronto.  I can see why my son, born and raised on the Canadian prairie, has fallen in love with the city and has found a place in one of the older districts only two blocks from the lake.  He has nature and the vibrancy of the best of city life.  He is motivated and energised as never before.

We talked quite a bit during the long walk and again later in the afternoon when we travelled into the centre of the city pictured above with the CN Tower and other high rise buildings for another long walk in the downtown core before walking on further into China Town and Kensington Market.  As we walked and continued to talk in between the moments when I went rushing off for another photo, the connection with my own past as a city kid in Ottawa which is not too distant from Toronto, told me all I needed to know about my son’s sense of finally being at home.  Unknown as to why, my son is now finding himself liking “home” even though it is a huge down-size from his large new home in Calgary.  But with the feeling of being at home in the house and on the streets and in the parks – he feels that he is complete.

All the elements are there – water, earth, energy, community, sun – balance.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “water, earth, energy, community, sun – balance”… that is exactly my impressions of Toronto when I was there many years ago.

    I found a similar balance in Vancouver but I was told that the sunny weather we were fortunate to experience during our stay there, wasn’t usual 🙂

    Cedric

    August 28, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    • I have found a world of difference between Vancouver and Toronto. I have spent more time in Vancouver yet somehow Toronto has more of a feel of “home” to it – perhaps it is because Ottawa is where I was born and experienced much of what was to form my “character.” Thanks, Cedric, for the resonance.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 29, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  2. The chance to see your children in their own space, complete and balanced is wonderful. The connections we can make then are deeper and more equal, because they are no longer ‘children’ to be guided but equals to share with. We can share wisdom and experience, but in return they now share with us their understandings as well.

    Lotus Light

    August 28, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    • I have been blessed with my children and have been finding myself learning much from them while wondering how it came to be that they are so grown up, such good people. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  3. Lovely. Like your comments, your photograph has it all… balance, well composed, nicely framed, well executed.

    themichaellamcollection

    August 30, 2010 at 5:25 am

    • Thanks for the comments. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:28 pm


Leave a Reply

