Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Life Guard Station

with 10 comments

This is a life guard station along the lake shore in the Beaches area of Toronto.  The golden colours acted like a magnet as I walked along the shore with camera in hand.  Of course I had already taken a few photos of the moon and the moonlight shimmering on the water.  This time I saw something more and quickly found a fence post upon which I rested the camera in hopes of getting a decent shot.  I am satisfied with the result.

It is easy to see the small structure as a beacon of light in the darkness.  Somehow, this struct me as being an image of the masculine trapped in the darkness looking towards the moon, the feminine, trying to find a way to bridge the distance.  And in saying that something more emerges and I see the golden structure for what it is, a beacon that gives one hope in the darkness, a beacon not so unlike a church that says one can be saved from the chaos of darkness.

With the photo taken, I rushed off to rejoin the others with whom I had taken the evening walk.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not surprised that is what you see, but I prefer the first description to the second.

    365daysinthisbeautifullife

    August 29, 2010 at 6:41 am

    • It is all about resonance and what strikes the core of one’s self as the message to be heard. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 29, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  2. I have been away for a week – in Toronto area or all things.
    I have always liked lighthouses; they hold the Jungian rule of being balanced. They are both a beacon of hope to come home/be safe AND as warning to stay away, keep from a danger otherwise not seen in the dark.

    Urspo

    August 29, 2010 at 11:09 am

    • LOL! Who knows, Dr. Urspo, perhaps we crossed paths at the Buskers event or at the Taiwanese festival, or perhaps on the boardwalk of the Beaches or in China Town or along Queen Street East? I love the thought that balance is vital.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 29, 2010 at 1:12 pm

  3. Yes. Balance. Vital=Life.

    365daysinthisbeautifullife

    August 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

  4. Lovely shot, a bit soft, but I suppose that’s because of you make-shift tripod…. I was very annoyed with myself for leaving home my tripod on my last trip, but its just too heavy… airlines etc, you know…
    Keep Shooting.

    themichaellamcollection

    August 30, 2010 at 5:34 am

    • In the end, I kept the photo even though it was “soft” as you noted. And in the end, it was this “softness” that brought in an extra depth and made it evoke more at an imaginal level. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:29 pm

  5. It is a wonderful picture Robert – great composition !
    Next to this great composition as whole, one can practice the Rorschach inner search in structure of light and dark – thank you !

    Opa Bear

    August 30, 2010 at 5:49 am

    • I’m glad that you enjoyed the photo. Thank you.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:29 pm


Leave a Reply

