Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

In the Air En Route to China

with 11 comments

I took this photo with my old camera a few weeks ago, an eagle flying over the hills bordering Lake Diefenbaker in Saskatchewan.  I thought it was an appropriate time to post the photo as I am on plane on my way to Shanghai, China and my return to Changzhou where I will resume my retirement career as a university History prof, my third year at this university.

For some reason, I have a strong resonance with eagles.  I don’t identify with them, but see them as symbols of something higher, something of a guide, perhaps in terms of showing me the way through the realm of spirit.  I have to admit that another life form serves as a guide for me – frogs.  Frogs are at home in the swamplands, the realm of matter, the realm of soul.  Part of my ancestral heritage would say that these two are my totems.  I wonder . . .

I have set this blog post to appear while I am in the plane and on my way to Shanghai; that is one of the good things about WordPress, being able to ensure that my posts continue to be published even while I am busy with other things that would otherwise cause a significant break.  I am not sure if this need to ensure the posts keep coming is more about being considerate of you, the readers of my blog, or if it is simply about a need for myself to write, to let my words float free like this eagle.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 30, 2010 at 6:11 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whatever the reason, Robert, I’m glad you posted this morning. Be safe in your endeavor, in as much as you are able as the passenger. Thank you for sharing your journey with us/me. I’m excited to read what your return to China brings to us.

    seekraz

    August 30, 2010 at 7:18 am

    • I am just as excited to see what the year brings to me in terms of this blog site and my own journey. Thanks for following me on the journey. 🙂

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      • It is my sincere pleasure to walk with you. 🙂

        seekraz

        August 31, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  2. Robert, you continue to be a source of synchronicity for me. I recently had an unusual encounter with a bald eagle and wrote about it here:
    http://intuitivepaths.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/eagle-as-spirit/
    I love the photo, and wish you positve experiences on your further journey.

    Elizabeth

    1sojournal

    August 30, 2010 at 7:44 am

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. I will be checking out the blog post soon.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  3. Safe travels.

    beyondanomie

    August 30, 2010 at 9:23 am

    • We have arrived in good order and are now settled in our apartment. Thanks.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:32 pm

  4. The freedom of the eagle, its ability to soar high above and look down with a different perspective make it a wonderful totem. Frogs – maybe because of their staged life-cycle – so many metamorphoses??

    My totems are the whale and since I’ve been in China, turtles. The many turtle sculptures or bixi, holding the stelae fascinated me. Each one has a different expression and different decorations. I have hundreds of photos of them, and a collection of turtles from pewter to clay.

    Lotus Light

    August 30, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    • Thanks for your comments. I get surprised when I hear of others and their totems. Most people wouldn’t know about these things. Turtles and whales. Interesting.

      Robert G. Longpré

      August 31, 2010 at 6:33 pm

  5. Happy Journeys Robert.
    let your ideas roam high as an eagle soars and may your eye for photography be like that of an eagle 🙂

    themichaellamcollection

    August 31, 2010 at 6:11 am


Leave a Reply

