Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Imaging the Unknowable

with 3 comments

I took this photo yesterday.  It has been a while since I was able to see the moon because of clouds and pollution.  In spite of the things that hide, what lies hidden is full, just like this moon doesn’t lose its mass or add to its mass as it moves through its phases.  What gets in the way of awareness is simply a lack of consciousness about the darkness, the shadows, the unconscious.  It is about projection, about trying to “imagine” what is otherwise unknowable.

For me, it is almost what I can see in terms of the spiritual centre of self, the wellsprings of the religious principle.  I know its there and I can only catch a hint of its existence.  I know the moon is fully there though I only see a thin sliver of its light.  And that sliver is all I need – not just “faith” that there is a moon.  For those that are used to me writing so much more in each post, I want to say that this “minimalist” post is intended and not just a result of laziness.  Maybe less is more.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Vivienne Tuffnell, Robert Longpre. Robert Longpre said: Imaging the Unknowable: http://wp.me/p6pAZ-XB #cgjung #psych #photography #rgl […]

  2. Like this post a lot for the coincidental reason of also being captivated by the sight of a particularly prominent crescent moon in my own part of the world earlier this evening.

    It was low in the sky, making it seem unusually large, something I found pleasing for reasons I can’t quite articulate.

    beyondanomie

    November 10, 2010 at 11:18 am

  3. Great work, Robert, thanx for the blog. I ‘ve just discovered it. Didn’t realize there were other Jung nuts out there. Have a look at my blog, http://www.waelalmahdi.com Would appreciate it if you put it in your blog roll.

    Wael Al-Mahdi

    November 21, 2010 at 5:47 am


Leave a Reply

