Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Heavy Shade of Yellow

with 2 comments

Tianning Temple ChangZhou, March 2011

I likely have hundreds of photos taken at Tianning Temple in ChangZhou.  Why I decided to take yet another photo is a mystery.  Perhaps it was the light, the sunlight that had decided to reappear and led me to spend the afternoon in the park beside the temple.  As I walked along the edge of the temple grounds towards the park, I saw this photo and decided it just had to go into my collection.  It had to do with the lines and the colours, and with the small shadowed tunnel between the wall, the road and the trees.

The weight of the wall almost makes this a throw-away photo.  Though the temple wall is bright yellow, in this scene, it is almost oppressive.  The faint bit of white light which holds the image of a person that is found at the bottom right, only adds to the sense of heaviness.

Okay, this is too much (and a bit comical at the same time)!  I just took a break from writing up this post as my eyes couldn’t stay open though it was early afternoon here.  I found my own body resisting alertness and engagement and ended up taking a nap, something I never do.  Both body and mind refused to work with the image in a way that I normally find relatively easy.  So, I have decided to listen to both mind and body and just let it be for now; until the next post.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 9, 2011 at 5:02 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It could have something to do with the yellow t-shirt you wear on yourID pic?
    the juxta-position of tree and building?
    where does ‘man’ fit?

    Bob Cvetkovic

    March 10, 2011 at 2:55 am

    • I thought of that as well 🙂 Where does man fit in? I don’t know that he fits in as a “separate” entity.

      rgl

      March 13, 2011 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

