Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Relocating Self

with one comment

This is a photo taken yesterday when walking to visit a colleague who had recently given birth to a baby boy.  New blossoms of all sorts are opening and the willow trees have new green buds which give a thin veneer of green on their branches.  After so many bits and bytes of news that talks of death and destruction around the world, it is good to witness another side of nature, the side that shows life emerging.

–  –  –  –  –

As the above marks indicate, I somehow had a significant “pause” in the process of constructing this post, a two-day pause.  It had to do with being a bit under the weather and not being able to focus too readily.  However, now I am back with an improved state of being.  I wonder if it was synchronistic that I lost my energy during the the time of tragedy unfolding in Japan and in the Arab world?  Somehow, I think that this was the case.  The tragedies have not ended, if anything, they are set to worsen.  But, life must go on for me.

It is easy to get caught in the drama and have one’s energy sucked away.  I see this happening to some in various parts of the world via social media such as Twitter.  Those affected are possessed even if they are thousands of miles or kilometres away, getting little sleep and hanging on to every bit of news that comes out of cyberspace, reposting the news without checking for validity.  The individual mind has fallen asleep at the switch while the archetypal energies run free, eating away at the human host.

So, I had to stop and take a time out, to relocate my “self.”

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whenever I read your daily offerings, the image presented is the first thing that catches my eye. This morning was no exception–I looked at the flowers and thought Easter as they reminded me of a spray of miniature Easter lilies.

    Not surprisingly, your thoughts also speak to me of a kind of death/resurrection, especially since you rested two days and on the third day awakened with new energy to write.

    The planet and its people are in flux. Something new is being born and it frightens me to think about what must happen before this comes to pass. I keep reminding myself of one of my favorite quotes by Richard Bach:

    What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.

    I truly believe this. Wishing you a peaceful heart…

    Jane

    jbj

    March 17, 2011 at 8:39 am


Leave a Reply

