Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Dreams Deferred Are Nightmares

with 2 comments

Another magnolia flower that I caught with my camera on April 1st shows a more feminine aspect.  In a recent post I featured a magnolia blossom before it had opened or “flowered,” an image that evoked a sense of the masculine.  As one of my readers noted in response to that post, the magnolia has both a masculine and feminine aspect.  It is amazing to me how quickly the shift from a faint bud on a tree to petals fading, aging and falling off the same tree, occurs.  In a way, it is a strong statement about how transitory we are in the big picture.  Each of us, in turn, flowers only to fade.  This isn’t something that should give rise to despair, but rather give us reason to jump fully into life with the opportunity and time given to us.

So, what is the fullness of life for any of us, for all of us?  Well, that is not so easily defined as each of us has a unique journey.  What makes the definition harder is the possibility that who we are, the unique self is not fully contained in a biological body.  There appears to be too much evidence that we are more than the sum of our physical aspects.  The word soul adds a dimension that suggests that the body is a host, an opportunity for “SELF” to be made manifest.  Soul appears to be something that is not bound in the constraints of time, but timeless in the sense that there is no beginning or end to its being.

In looking at the magnolia tree and the rest of nature, watching the birth and rebirth repeated endlessly on one tree, and then seeing a new tree replacing an old tree as a statement that only the container has changed and not the essence, I get a powerful affirmation of my own being.  In watching the magnolia blossom, I get a message that I too can risk putting my full self out there chasing dreams.  Fear of aging and death recede as the essence of who I am does not die.  To refuse the chasing of dreams leads me into dark holes that swallow me up, nightmares of darkness.

Though I am passed the mid-point of my life, I am vitalized and reveling in the sunshine and more tolerant of the gloomy cloudy days that in turn give me food for the next sunny day.  I have dared to follow my bliss and feel fully alive as a result.  Dare to follow your dreams rather than let them fester so that they become your nightmares.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 4, 2011 at 10:19 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Following dreams is vital. The fastest way to a withered soul is to ignore and dismiss our dreams.

    Congratulations on taking the next contract!

    Lotus Eater

    April 5, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • Following dreams both inner and outer world. Thanks, Deborah.

      rgl

      April 10, 2011 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

