Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Building Collective Consciousness One Blossom at a Time

with 2 comments

Spring in ChangZhou, April 2011

This photo was taken yesterday as I walked along one of the many canals that criss-cross through the city of ChongZhou.  I thought I was lucky to be able to isolate this one particular blossom as the bushes the blossom grows on is usually densely covered with delicate blossoms in a variety of shades of pink and red.  I even found a few bushes with pale yellow blossoms.

I was particularly stuck by the fragile appearance of the blossom, a blossom that is quick to fall off the bush when contact is made.  It made me think of how so many things in our world are fragile, some things we take for granted that appear to be strong – a human life for example.

As I walk through the beautiful parks and along canals and boulevards in this city which is racing to become as modern as possible and green at the same time, I can almost forget about scenes in other places that are more about horror than about blossoms.  I blame it on the newspapers that find a gory sort of pleasure in featuring death and destruction.  Stories of people falling out of buildings, being hit by a passing car or by a passing bullet or bomb find their way to the front pages so that we get desensitized to the fact of death.  And it isn’t only death that makes these front pages, threats to our freedoms and to our humanity are also gleefully reported.

Fear – it’s all about fear.  Inside we know that we are fragile and we try to escape the fact of our fragility.  In fear, we retreat into a world of victimhood, a place where others are responsible for all the bad stuff that happens.  We don’t want to admit that our own personal darkness has any role to play in the collective darkness that is finding a ripe world in which to run amok.

I am forced to admit my own fragility as well as the fragility of others around me.  I wound myself and others when I fail to own my own responsibility.  I am forced to confront my own weakness and accept that in spite of my individual space in a multitudinous world, I have a role to play.  Every fragile blossom has a role to play in the larger drama in which the world is engaged.  Only then can consciousness be won for myself as an individual and in turn be gifted to the collective.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 17, 2011 at 2:46 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Nothing in life is to be feared; only understood.” – Marie Curie

    Urspo

    April 18, 2011 at 11:27 am

    • Wise woman, and a wise man to note her wisdom. Thanks, Urspo.

      rgl

      April 25, 2011 at 6:50 am


Leave a Reply

