Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

On Being Present: An Authentic Life

with 2 comments

Blossoms in HongMei Park, April 2011

I was finding it hard to capture the real mauves and violet colours of this climbing bush, so I was pleasantly surprised at how this image turned out.  Many of my photos are taken simply for pleasure, not with any particular psychological purpose for this blog.  Flowers, scenes, places and people form the bulk of such “personal pleasure” photographs.  It is my way of being “in the moment.”

That is something that many of us, myself of course included, find difficult to accomplish.  I know that I want to be “over there” where the action is, doing something “vital and meaningful” for my family, country, community and mostly, for my ego.  Yes, I admit it, I am often “full” of myself.  The problem with wanting to be over there is that I miss what is here in front of my eyes.  I lose the real opportunity for being vital and being authentic which in turn makes life meaningful.

My wanderings around this city with a camera provides me with an excuse to be present in my own quiet way.  As I wander with the camera, I get surprised by others who then see me being curious and take that as an invitation to communicate, to connect.  And so, I get drawn into a more vital presence.

Back in the apartment, with the doors closed, I often fall back into a less vital existence, at least until I visit my photos which kindle anew, the sparks of connection I experienced earlier.  Slowly, I learn what it means to find meaning through the act of being present in life.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 21, 2011 at 10:04 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Être présent à la vie, c’est cela le réel. Amitiés.

    Ariaga

    April 22, 2011 at 1:20 am

    • D’accord, Ariaga. Amitiés et bises

      rgl

      April 25, 2011 at 6:58 am


Leave a Reply

