Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Railing Against the Winds of Change

with 2 comments

Along a secluded walkway in ChangZou, April 2011

This is another one of my flower photos taken just a few days ago, from a collection that grows larger almost every time I step outside with my camera.  I am sure that if I look back through the collection I will find that I have taken a similar photo on quite a number of different occasions.  It is about an appreciation of beauty, of the fragile and of the temporary. Regardless, of the fact that this is likely a repeat experience, I still take the photos.

I wonder why I take so many photos such as this?  I am not really that passionate about flowers or gardening.  I do see the value of gardening in terms of growing food for a family, or as a way of finding internal peace in a stressful world.  I recognize the value and the passion that exists in others and I am very thankful for that passion as it allows me to wander with my camera and catch these images.

But, that doesn’t explain why I am taking these photos or why I present them here.  In my opinion, I think it has to do with projection, projecting my needs, safely.  So what is needed?  In order to approach an answer, if there is an answer, I must look at the holder of the projection.  What do I see and how do I resonate with what is seen?

Obviously, the flower is the holder of my projection as it is the focus of the photo.  But what is it that serves as a hook for the projection that I cast?  Is it the flower itself or is it the contrast between darkness and light?  I know that I often mention this, but this time, I don’t think so.  Somehow, that doesn’t “fit” at this point in time.  Rather, it is about fragility and knowing that in spite of everything, the blossoms will fall off and be blown away, shredded.

Vulnerability.  Impermanence.  Fragility.  Am I like this flower, just a short burst of light and beauty that must return to darkness?  Fear.  Yes, fear.  As I sit here comfortably in China , I realise that this is just a temporary situation.  I will have to return to my home in Canada and make some decisions about how to make the final leg of my life journey meaningful.  I have delayed the real return for yet another year after signing another contract for teaching at the university.  Like a flower, I want to cling on for as long as I can before some wind forces me to move on to the next transformation.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I see it as a crude but all natural (and all powerful) mantra.
    So perhaps you are drawn to it as a symbol of the Self?

    Urspo

    April 24, 2011 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

