Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Out of Head and Into Heart

leave a comment »

No, the rose didn’t really look this way when I took the photo.  Photoshop and contrast adjustments were used to achieve this effect.  What effect? I think it is a protest of what one perceives as reality, that there is something behind, beneath, above and outside of facts that is crucial to experience, to being human.  I wanted to capture the depth of the darkness and shadows and the dazzling and mesmerizing light as contrast.  This is what love seems to be for me, incredible depths, shadows and blinding light at the same time.  Captured in the thrall of love, there is no reason, no clear-headed thinking, no balance.  One is either transported or sundered.

“. . . why have I come to this mountain? . . . What does this sort of experience mean to me?  If it’s just to get away from the problems I was experiencing, there are easier ways.  Then maybe it’s to to find another sort of life.  To leave far behind the perplexing world of human beings.  If I’m trying to be a recluse why do I need to impact with other people?  Not knowing what one is looking for is pure agony.  Too much analytical thinking, too much logic, too many meanings!  Life has no logic, so why does there have to be logic to explain what it means?  Also, what is logic?  I think I need to break away from analytical thinking, this is the cause of all my anxieties.” (Gao XingJian, Soul Mountain, p. 50)

Love is the mountain and the valley and the cave within the mountain and the lake within the cave and the stream breaking over rocks descending into the valley.  This isn’t a land of common sense.  This is a land of myth and magic.  Without question, love is the cure for a meaningless life, for a life that has become too predictable, too calm.  The soul needs to be reanimated.  And in the process of falling in love, one loses again “self” which then allows for a new round of self-discovery.  One needs, I need to sometimes get out of my head and into my heart.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

May 3, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

