Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

In Search of Dialogue

with 11 comments

This is a Buddhist temple in Ben Tre, Vietnam which I found only blocks away from the hotel I was staying at for one night in the Mekong Delta region.  It was an island of calm surrounded by a busy city.  The temple was within, yet dissociated.  It had a different rhythm.  It seemed to be comfortable in its uniqueness in its environment, alone talking to the gods who had been banished to silence in the city proper.  Surrounded by the city, isolated by the city, yet at ease.

I am somehow slowing down with posting here, perhaps it is the warmth and sunshine of spring or perhaps it is more about losing focus.  I notice that fewer people are visiting my site (this version of my site – the old site which is dormant gets more visitors).  Is it time to let the posting take a significant pause?  I wonder if I am beginning to spin my wheels and simply repeating the same stuff over and over again?  I am too lazy to go through the numerous (835) posts in order to answer this question.

The process of introspection, reflection and active imagination through images will continue for me whether I blog or not.  I wonder at the investment in this blog site, the investment of time, hope, and even anticipation.  Is it time to pull back and focus on a single, unified larger project such as a book?  With a background of mostly silence, it often seems that I am engaging in talking to myself out loud.  I know that some of my readers will disagree with this as they are faithful in reading and in posting comments along the way.  This reflection on my part is not a criticism of readers or the lack thereof.  Rather, it is an existential question of meaning and purpose.

I begin to think that I need more face-to-face dialogue, more one-on-one dialogue, that touches on themes I bring up here.  Living in China where language barriers are real and where few would be willing to discuss these things even without a language barrier, perhaps highlights the lack of connection.

I am interested in the thoughts of my readers in this and welcome a “commentary” discussion.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My experience is most readers come/go because they get bored; it has nothing to do with your contents. People want something new to keep their interest.
    Please don’t change anything to ‘keep them coming’. What you have is your Self, and it needs no Personae energy to keep the numbers up. Who comes and why is real stuff, based on the real you. Have it no other way.

    Urspo

    May 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    • Urspo, thanks for jumping in here in response to my questions. Sometimes one needs just a small nudge to lift oneself up out of a moment of doubt. I have tried “changing” things on occasion but have found that I can’t hold to changes that don’t resonate and I always return to a natural way of being here on my pages in cyberspace, or should I say an inner space exposed, a place of transparent psyche. I will write on.

      rgl

      May 15, 2011 at 7:15 am

  2. I second that…

    marigold

    May 15, 2011 at 2:14 am

    • Hi Marigold, thanks for seconding Urspo’s comments. It is much appreciated.

      rgl

      May 15, 2011 at 7:16 am

  3. Robert, I look to your site everyday to see the world from different perspectives and for existential stimulation. The Self searching and spirituality feed my soul.

    patricia

    May 15, 2011 at 5:53 am

    • Patricia, this is heartening, to become aware that in some way my words resonate and feed the soul of another person. Thank you very much for these words. I will journey on here on these pages.

      rgl

      May 15, 2011 at 7:17 am

  4. Admittedly I am only a reader, not much commenter. Nevertheless I do enjoy your writing very much, as it over and over again opens up a glimpse of the inner world that I am too rarely aware of.
    But being able to read does not mean I would feel in any way competent to discuss those matters, most of the times I am just awed and try to note by myself that this is something I should explore further. Hollis’ book sits on my desk for quite some time now, but probably only in the next holidays there will be occasion to really read it.
    I know that blogging without visible resonance can become depressing – I do write/photograph my own since 2006, and “dry periods” were abundant – and I’ve tried to resort to the ‘I do it for myself’ theorem (not always with success).
    So I’d like you to know that there is one more interested reader of your ramblings into the not-so-daily realms. – Markus

    Markus Spring

    May 15, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    • Markus, I want to thank you for your comment. I am curious, which book by James Hollis do you have waiting for you? I am thankful that the dry periods of writing are very short lived in the past two years. While on your site, I saw the notice for the start of SoFoBoMo and immediately began thinking about my own possible participation. I want to do another in the moment photo book but I don’t have any guiding thoughts at this time. I am busy with selecting photos for a photo book project that has nothing to do with Jungian Psychology, a project that I expect to finish in the next three weeks before I return to Canada. I imagine that I will comment a few times here with regards to the project. Again, thanks for taking the time to talk.

      rgl

      May 15, 2011 at 4:07 pm

  5. Robert, it’s the ‘Mythologems’ that is waiting patiently for me to read it… You quoted it very often, and from those sentences I felt its content could be accessible for me.

    Re. the photobook: Please feel free to ask whatever you’d like to know! I am doing all my work on Linux, but my DTP program of choice, scribus, is available at no cost for windows as well. Same holds true for the gimp, which I use for some fine tuning of images.

    Markus Spring

    May 16, 2011 at 5:03 am

  6. Papa,

    I read every single entry and find that it helps me feel closer to you. I feel like I’m learning to know you better, and by knowing you better, I know myself better too. I know I’m terrible at communication, but I’m always here and always reading.

    I love you Papa. Thank you for this blog.

    Noelle

    May 16, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • I know that you read these words, Noelle. And, I am glad that you do so. 🙂 with love from your Papa.

      rgl

      May 16, 2011 at 10:36 am


Leave a Reply

