Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

There’s a Tree On My Back

with 10 comments

I searched for a while for today’s photo and decided that this photo taken in February in Angkor Wat deserved to brought forward for you, my readers.  I chose the photo before any thoughts as to what today’s post was to be about as I was unsure about the direction of this post.  As I come closer to returning to Canada for the summer, I find that I am disrupted from normal routines.  I haven’t taken my camera out for a walk in weeks and my sleep patterns are changing as the weather warms up.  I find it harder to focus, even to read.  It is as though some alien force has clamped an energy suppressant shield over me.

I think some of this is due to the frustration I feel in trying to access Internet and write up posts.  At times, the good times, I can simply turn on a browser and log into this page and write to my hearts content, taking time to search for the right photo and browse though a book or two to find words that resonate.  Recently that freedom has all but vanished.  I use a program called Freegate to try and get passed the Firewall used to limit the access both into and out of China’s web spaces.  If there is a small opening in the wall, I can sneak in to catch up on a bit of reading and posting using social media such as Twitter or Facebook, media which shortens the distance between family and friends left behind.  However, I can’t post blogs using Freegate as my host site in Canada doesn’t allow proxy access to do so.

Yet adding to the Internet issues is the perennial issue of end of course documentation so that the university can release grades and move on to a new term.  At least Internet isn’t an issue in doing this work.  However, it is a dull, dispiriting kind of work that drains the energy levels and leaves one lethargic.

I realise that this post is not much more than a rant, and that, thankfully is not typical for my way of being here.  Now, if I could only get this tree off my back and renew my presence in both face-to-face life and here in my sacred container, Through A Jungian Lens.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

May 29, 2011 at 8:33 am

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How frustrating for you.
    On the ‘positive’ side, we got to read some about your direct feelings, which is an honor for us.

    Urspo

    May 29, 2011 at 9:36 am

    • Yes, on the positive side 🙂 There is always that. Thanks, doc.

      rgl

      June 3, 2011 at 7:55 pm

  2. A strong photo to illustrate this feeling of a heavy, energy sucking load on someone’s back.
    It’s a pity that all those values of China get overbalanced by that ruling class’ iron will to control everything and everybody. And I am not sure that this will work out even in the medium term. There is so much knowledge amassing now, knowledge and skill that doesn’t get used properly so that the controls get tighter and tighter. So it’s good for you that there’s a home outside of China where you will find relief from such burdens.

    Markus Spring

    May 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    • I wonder if the heaviness is not about something other than China, more about the iron will to control that is within my own psyche. Thanks, Markus.

      rgl

      June 3, 2011 at 7:56 pm

  3. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for this learning Post.
    I think that I am aware of the mood that you are in now and feel sorry for you – because when I am right I believe that this is a (the) mood which I call for myself as “thrown back to myself” and when I am in this mood I am experiencing the limitations of my Ego as a solo.
    I am sort of separated and not whole as our Creator has meant us to be.
    That is, in a way I feel (I am aware) that I am cut from the sources of my Self (or so it seems).
    My “creative Energy” is blocked – the feeling of Harmony is gone and it is in these times that I can assume what it means to be really poor – even when I had millions of Dollars to spend, in this mood I could be aware of being poor.
    So, my symptoms and now my cure – I use my will to I take a rough piece of a tree branch and a piece of sanding paper and quietly start to sand the branch – I am feeling sad and abandoned .
    But amazingly, after a while, during this simple process, (or ritual) I feel the urge of creative energy and this holds, and while (now in Harmony) I am able to sand the branch in what for me is a beautiful form.
    And so in my very simple way I learned to get back in Balance again.
    Personally I think one can take any object or even a subject when one is capable to do so to accomplish the process (ritual) – it is symbolic and symbols are the language of the Self …..!
    I hope that my personal experience written down in my simple words can be of some help to you – in one way or the other – because we share.

    Opa Bear

    May 29, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    • Opa, your words to me are priceless and treasured. Your words do help. Thank you.

      rgl

      June 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  4. Une photo somptueuse !

    Ariaga

    May 30, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    • Merci, Ariaga. Maleureusement, j’ai pas trop d’energie pour une reponse que tes mots meritent.

      rgl

      June 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  5. I honor your courage to be open about your feelings and struggle at this time. I feel like I now have “permission” to do the same in my writings. Thank you Robert.

    patricia

    June 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm


Leave a Reply

