Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Grandfather and Grandsons

with 2 comments

Grandfather and Grandson in Kensington Market

I will begin with a comment about the guest photographer, my wife.  At times she does get to pry the camera from my hands in order to prove to the family and our friends that I was indeed part of the event or activity or touring.  Today’s post has three of her photos taken in recent days with the subject being Grandfather and Grandson.  I have one son and he has one son and the three of us are very, very close to each other.

Lunch time in Toronto

Since our arrival in Toronto, I have been able to spend a good amount of time with this little man, building a relationship that hopefully will grow and deepen.  Of my two grandfathers, my paternal grandfather stands out as being “closest” to me.  For whatever reason, the maternal grandfather didn’t seem as close.  That said, given the time and history of both families, I accepted the reality of the way it was.

For my grandchildren, six grandsons, I hope they will remember a closer grandfather, one though often distant in geography is still a man who values them as individuals.  All six grandsons don’t hesitate to hug and kiss their “Papa-Père” or to just hang out together on a floor building with Legos, playing road hockey, wandering through the tall grass, hiking in the hills, chatting around a campfire in the back yard, or just rough-housing.  Guy time is important between a grandfather and grandsons.

Catching a moment of rest in Niagara Falls

The relationship between father and son, as well as grandfather and grandson, is a powerful masculine relationship regardless of how little or how much time and energies are invested in the relationship.  My son continues to communicate, almost daily, with me whether I am in a different province in Canada or in a different country thanks to social media and the Internet.  There is no fear of approaching matters of depth or in trust.  My son reads the words I place here and I am fully aware of that as I compose my posts here.  But knowing that doesn’t have me hold back in my posting.  If anything, the fact that my children read this forces me to be honest.

And that is what is most important for me, to live and write with authenticity.  I don’t think there is such a thing as a perfect father as we are all wounded, all caught up in our individual battles with personal shadows.  My three children know that I am fallible, that I have my personal issues which naturally have affected their lives.  Yet somehow, being honest has not created distance, but has somehow allowed me to be more myself with them.  And, in my opinion, that relationship is richer because of the honest, the messiness and the willingness to be present with each other.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

June 14, 2011 at 5:17 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely photos. Being with family is good, and reconnecting is special. Being honest about life is a great role model for everyone.

    Lotus Eater

    June 14, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    • I agree with you, Lotus. Thanks for visiting. When do you head home to Australia?

      rgl

      June 15, 2011 at 4:25 am


Leave a Reply

