Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Between Light and Dark

with 5 comments

I managed to capture this shot while riding in a truck with my son-in-law, taking the photo with the window rolled down as we sped through the prairie landscape heading for an event in another town, the RCMP Musical Ride in which my niece was riding.  As you can probably tell, it was late afternoon with a hint of darkness on the horizon while gold light reigned in the foreground.  It seems that the treasure is always found in an in between place.

The allergies continue to punish my head and I struggle to maintain a focus to write.  Since I know that in time I will again get used to this condition, I refuse to give in to the dampening factors as I have a need to continue being present here, present in a way that is authentic.  Writing this blog is a gift to myself, not really a gift to others.  Yet in being a gift to myself, I know that it must also include others if it is to have any value at all.  Hoarding the words and photos to myself would only result in my finding myself stuck in some pathological state of aloneness where even my “self” would be a stranger.  Like a rainbow, I need to find that narrow band of space, place and time between realities, that place where rainbows are born.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

June 19, 2011 at 7:49 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Robert: Amen to all you’ve written! Seeing your photo reminded me of my younger days in Lethbridge and Calgary, my ol’ stompin’ grounds. Beautiful isn’t it? And filled with the glory of God. Thanks for the blessing. Alan

    Alan

    June 20, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • Hi Alan, welcome to the blog site. I hope you find it somewhat useful and interesting. I look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

      rgl

      June 20, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  2. This image and the reflections are nourishing for me as I’ve been in one in-between space after another for over a year now. Thank you for the reminder of the unique gifts of liminality and the beautiful photo. I hope that you find some relief for your allergies!

    Melanie St. Ours

    June 20, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by and making a positive comment, Melanie. I just checked out your blog and found it to be quite interesting. I look forward to your return and more comments. 🙂

      rgl

      June 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  3. Lovely rainbow. There’s always something magical, primordial and inspiring about them to me.
    I took some rainbow pics last week, but only so far put them up on Facebook.
    Sorry to hear your allergies are giving you so much trouble.
    x

    Viv

    June 22, 2011 at 3:22 pm


Leave a Reply

