Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Place Called Home

with 2 comments

In praise of country - Oh Canada!

Here I present a photo taken in my yard where I have placed a Canadian flag on the garden shed.  I was quite pleased with the image as it puts the flag in the shade and looks out from a dim shadowy place as though reaching out to the sun as late afternoon begins to fade into evening.  I have to admit that I took this photo last year.  Somehow or other, I never got around to putting up any Canada Day decorations.  The yard looks as it does any other summer day.

Am I less patriotic?  I admit that this might be the case now that I have been to many countries and live for the most part in China,  I am finding myself less attached to place in terms of a geo-political place.  The world of governments is not doing much to make it easy to be proud of country.  That said, I do love my country and know that it is my “home” in terms of cultural roots.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

July 2, 2011 at 7:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks a lot for post,Robert!
    I’m reading a book ” At Home in the World” by J.Hill these days, so would like to add some quotes:

    “Are you at home anywhere? Do you need a home? Do you need to search for some person, some place, or something to which you can say:You are mine and I am yours? Have you ever asked what happens to you when you feel estranged from yourself or others? Do you feel you have been thrown into a world that sometimes makes or breaks you? Has the grounding anchor of home brought relief and safety, or has it become a place of captivity?”

    “Once over the threshold, the particular atmosphere of a home begins to tell tales about the life of its inhabitants. We learn about homes that are full of life, homes that are empty, homes of fear, homes of love, erotic homes, stuffy homes, homes that are chaotic, homes that are impeccable, homes expressing status, homes that are humble. The list is endless”.

    “For most people, however, home is nourished from memories of inti?
    mate attachments to parents, caretakers, family, or loved ones. Eventu?
    ally, you find traces of home in affiliation to a clan, community, nation,
    or landscape. The soul’s need for home reveals a remarkable plasticity, even extending beyond a particular person, family, or nation. Some peo­ple, for example, find home in attachment to a favorite animal”.

    Oksana

    July 4, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    • Thank you, Oksana, for these words from Hill. Home is where one finally finds comfort in just being.

      rgl

      July 5, 2011 at 6:01 am


Leave a Reply

