Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Taking Shadow On the Journey of Individuation

with 6 comments

Facing shadows on the journey

I took this photo this morning, early this morning not long after sunrise.  I went out alone with my camera in order to get photos of sunrise shadows, hoping to get a few that would fit into my SoFoBoMo project.  For those not aware of it, SoFoBoMo is an international photography project in which one has thirty-one days to produce a small book (PDF) of 35 photographs with appropriate text.  This year the start date is July 1st and the end date is August 31st.  One can choose any day within this time frame as the start point and begin the 31 day countdown.  All photos used must be taken within that time frame.

Of course, I will be focusing on presenting images from a Jungian standpoint.  The focus for this year’s book is “shadow.”  That explains my shadow on the gravel between the rail tracks.  This image actually teaches me something.  As I travel my journey which has me trying to become as conscious of my self as possible, my shadow makes the journey with me.  The only time I lose actual touch with my shadow, is when I physically leave the surface of the earth, have no contact with the earth.  But even then, my shadow still exists, still can be traced on the earth as the shadow of a cloud or passing bird can be seen.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the symbolic world. And I love your passion for… hmm.. not sure what I feel your passion is but I can feel SOMETHING reading this post. I like this picture because I see your shadow framed… safely framed, surrounded by the train tracks.

    UnmotheredChild

    July 3, 2011 at 9:32 am

    • Yes, it is about passion, about being alive and daring to embrace all of that which is vital within and without. Thanks my friend. 🙂

      rgl

      July 3, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  2. one of my teachers was fond of saying “and where is Shadow in this?” emphasizing it can’t be gone.

    My teachers had 2 different views on Shadow; one was the classical version, the other was Shadow=what is not conscious about a Complex. The later definition puzzled me for it sounds like Shadow=Unconscious.

    Urspo

    July 3, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    • The unconscious is more than the shadow. There are quite a few archetypes who also figure into the unconscious. Complexes are personal, not collective. To limit the shadow to complexes is to be blissfully unaware of the larger aspect. Thanks Urspo for you comment. Enjoy the “thinking” time on holidays. Retirement is not about sitting one one’s butt in a rocking chair (though I do this at pleasant intervals). Retirement is a busy time for many of us, so busy we fall into bed used up from a life fully charged by choice, not be need.

      rgl

      July 3, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  3. And the tension in this is that to create a shadow, you need to be in the light.

    Lotus Eater

    July 4, 2011 at 6:59 am

    • Spoken like a true photographer. Thanks, Lotus.

      rgl

      July 4, 2011 at 7:33 am


Leave a Reply

