Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Daring Something Different

with 4 comments

A walk along an abandoned rail track as sunset was approaching yielded this scene in the gathering clouds.  The horizon itself was clear and the sunset was also captured by my camera.  Of course, since this is the location for my SoFoBoMo book photos, the photo (one one in the series) will likely make it into the book, a book about consciousness, shadow and lifespan.  The work on the book is coming along slowly as I find I need a few more photos from pre-dawn and post-sunset to have the visual story fully represented.  I have decided to post all of the PDF versions of my books here so that you can read them at your leisure, downloading them if so desired.  Expect them to be posted up on the sidebar in the relatively near future.

When things are going too smoothly or perhaps even too rough on us, an opening often appears that will allow us to navigate through to another level of being.  Why do I say too smoothly?  Well, when the world seems perfect, there is a kind of lethargy that settles in and makes the perfection more like a prison than a place of paradise.  When things get so rough that one wants to say “the hell with it all!” there is usually a small crack in the darkness that has settled over us, perhaps barely visible, but it is there.

Almost all of us see this opening, a portal to a different way of being, but we are hesitant to explore that opening.  Fear holds us back.  “What if this is just a trap?  What if it only leads to something even worse?”  So, often people turn their backs on the portal and hug the devil they know, believing that what lies behind is likely worse.  Why do we do this, say this to ourselves?  Why?  Because we are certain that we deserve the darkness that we live in.  We know that though it is a living hell, it is still about being alive.  We don’t want to risk worse as it might mean our extinction.

The fear of the unknown, the fear of change, the fear of death – these fears keep us locked into patterns, beliefs, attitudes and actions.  It is only when life comes to the point of breaking us that we lose our grip on the fear of change and find the courage, or perhaps the desperation to dare something different.

 

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m reading an excellent book right now “The Five Things We Cannot Change…” by David Richo. It’s along the same lines as your writing, about letting go, among other things. I’m only just realizing that life is indeed a journey and not a destination, even though I’ve heard that cliche my whole life. My life is teaching me how to be, it’s giving me what I need. There is no place else I need to be.

    deb

    July 17, 2011 at 8:45 am

    • Thank you, Deb, for the reference to the book by David Richo. I appreciate that you find value in my words.

      rgl

      July 17, 2011 at 9:45 am

  2. Beautifully written and I love your image.

    Velva Lee Heraty

    August 24, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    • Thanks Velva. I appreciate your words in response to the post and photo.

      rgl

      August 24, 2011 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

