Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Grandparenting Face To Face

with 5 comments

Grandparenting

I am taking time out from my regular patterns and habits of reading and writing here for some dedicated grandparenting time.  This is one of my six grandsons, all of whom are now visiting at my home with their parents.  Grandchildren put life in perspective making sure that one doesn’t get too serious and that there is time for play and silliness.

It’s our annual family gathering so that cousins get to know each other and keep the bonds of family relatedness alive.  It brings out the best in all of us to spend four or five days together.  Since the return from China, it has been a constant round of travelling and visiting of family.  Once the grandchildren have returned to their various homes, the round of visiting will continue so that grandparent time will again happen in their own homes before I again fly off for another year of teaching in China at C.I.T. where I am entering my fourth year as instructor.  It will be another ten months before I again return to take on the role of grandparenting face-to-face.

Life is good.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

July 16, 2011 at 10:04 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Time with family is precious – when it is rationed. This is one of the tensions of loving. If we spend everyday with family, we seem to stop seeing the specialness of thsi period, of them. The grandchildren become people with demands that need fulfilling; the parents begin to irritate us with their differing views or priorities.

    Enjoy your limited time, take back precious memories – and leave before the magic disappears!!

    Lotus Eater

    July 16, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    • Limited time is built into the grandparenting role. Distance takes care of most of this as well as the fact that their nuclear families are busy with life in their own fast lanes. 🙂

      rgl

      July 17, 2011 at 9:40 am

  2. lucky man, to have grand sons.
    I am envious!

    Urspo

    July 17, 2011 at 1:09 am

    • I agree fully. It is especially awe inspiring to see that my grandfather, whom I look like, is seen in my son and again in his son, the youngest of the six grandsons. There is something timeless and unifying in seeing and knowing this when the great-great-grandson is linked to his great-great-grandfather in temperament and appearance. I do wish that I had at least one granddaughter to add to this menagerie of wildness. 🙂

      rgl

      July 17, 2011 at 9:43 am


Leave a Reply

