Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Sharing Spaces – Physical and Psychological

with 3 comments

Two red-tailed hawks are searching for a meal on the foothills of the mountains near Kamloops, B.C.  The bird life and wildlife found in these hills is surprising with the sightings of deer several times a day.  Though the people in the area are ranchers mostly raising horses, there is a sense that fences here are meaningless to the animals and birds sharing the spaces.  And this, the sharing of space is what struck me.

I am working with my brother on my mother’s care needs.  She is currently living with her life partner in a house that is a full hour from her hospital where she takes dialysis treatments.  Both are elderly and at this point in a position where they are at risk living on their own in any house in any location.  Neither want to be separated and admit that their situation is serious.  Yet, they remain in the fiction that they can return to a life of relative normalcy where they continue to care for each other, cook and all the other things associated with living independently.  My brother and I have now obtained the necessary documents to make decisions regarding health care and finances for my mother.  The way forward seems simple enough if there was only our mother to consider.  But, they share a space that is not simply a house.  And that fact makes a world of difference.

I chose this photo two days ago for a blog post then didn’t use it.  As I began this post last night I didn’t know where it was headed.  The feeling between my brother and I was that we had reached an impasse – give up or separate the two knowing that our mother’s physical well-being would be in the best possible hands.  After choosing the photo for this post I suddenly realised that there was a third approach to consider, one that kept them both in each other’s space perhaps in a revised fashion.  This means we need to reapproach our dialogues with both of them and carve out something different, something that was not an option just the day before.  This is how I will spend most of this afternoon with no guarantees that I can do more than has already been accomplished.  Yet somehow, there is now a better path to follow in having them maintain a psychological and physical sharing of spaces relationship.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

July 27, 2011 at 12:52 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ((((Hugs)))) Papa.

    Noelle

    July 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm

  2. I have an elderly mother who also seems to be unaware of her own limitations. I wonder if I will be the same. Hope things turns out well for both your mother and her partner.

    Deb

    July 29, 2011 at 6:30 am


Leave a Reply

