Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

There is Treasure Within Hidden in the Shadows

with 4 comments

R.G.L. Forty Years ago

This is an old photo taken forty years ago beside a northern lake somewhere in western Canada.  The beard is gone as is the hat which I made.  Even the trim, youthful body is gone and in its place is that of a slightly overweight somewhat shorter man.

It is strange to think that forty years ago I was a man with a head full of dreams and a woman at my side who was willing to travel through life while I chased these dreams, a woman with dreams of her own.  Today, I still have dreams and I am still chasing them as is the woman who has remained at my side these forty years.  The beard lasted for twenty-five years and was traded in for a goatee which stayed in place for another twelve years.  Now, I keep only a mustache and sometimes even that is questionable in terms of survival value.

The beard, the goatee and the mustache are all parts of various uniforms I wore as a statement of who I was.  One thing I have learned, slowly, is that who I am, my self-identity has nothing to do with facial hair or body weight or age.  The core that dreamed in 1971 is still the same core found within still dreaming in 2011.

As I gain a bit more awareness of the reality of my central self, something that seems to come only in the minutest of bits and pieces, I am discovering that the shadows of my youth are still the same shadows of my later years.  The repressed contents of childhood and youth are just peeking out as I disturb the complexes which are welded to these contents.  And to my surprise, the gifts of my youth are still there.  All it takes is a willingness to allow them to come into the light where they can flourish.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 3, 2011 at 3:00 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Understand as I’m a Jungian depth-psychotherapist. Unfortunately my shadow (perfectionism) reacted to how you use the word dream rather than aspiration, wish, desire, ambition, etc.
    I have a regular Dream Drumbeat on my Dream Momma FB page decrying the casual use of that soul seeking word.

    Here’s how, as Dream Momma, I articulate it. “A dream is a night time activity that occurs during REM sleep. It comes from deep within the psyche. It can inspire or wake-up a “dream” (aspiration, goal, desire) but is not ego driven like the other “dream”. Finally, it is the real meaning of the word dream. Ta-Dum! :)”

    Good luck on your personal quest. A fellow journeyman.

    Velva Lee Heraty

    August 4, 2011 at 10:21 am

    • I do understand the Jungian usage of the word, dream, and have spent enough hours with dream work both in and out of analysis, that you bring forward here. But, when I communicate to a public in general, I tend to use language that is more inclusive: That goes for dreams as well. I tend to use words in context assuming that those who read will frame their understandings of what I write in terms of context. That said, I want to thank you for your distinctions

      Velva, thank you for coming to this site, reading and finding the time to comment. I truly hope that you will return again and again and take part in a dialogue here with me and others. 🙂

      rgl

      August 5, 2011 at 11:17 am

  2. I agree with her assessment of the misuse of the term “dream.” Perhaps Robert if you agree to plead guilty we could work out some sort of plea agreement – lol!

    But in the same line of reasoning I add the gross misuse of the term “myth” today.

    Misuse of these terms take us further away from self-knowledge and understanding.

    John Ferric

    August 5, 2011 at 7:56 am

    • Hi John, consider me suitably chastised for misuse of language. 🙂 Guilty, guilty and guilty again. Sad truth is that I am an incorrigible case and will likely continue to speak in a way that will grate Jungian nerves 🙂 I am looking forward to my suitable punishment. Cheers 🙂

      rgl

      August 5, 2011 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

