Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Curiosity and Living the Questions

with 2 comments

Waxing Gibbous in North Dakota

I took this photo yesterday evening in Jamestown, North Dakota.  As I write this post I am again back in Saskatchewan, Canada.  I realise that I have more than enough luna photos already posted here and that perhaps for the viewer it might be a bit boring.  Regardless, I take these images at a certain moment in time because of a conscious decision which I sense might provide me with yet another excuse to write a few more words here.  Here, the moon is becoming fuller with each passing day in terms of what I can see.  Having watched this process many times, I now know that there is something there that I don’t see, still hidden in the dark blue is more of the moon.

And this is what I thought would be my reason for the photo, the idea of the hidden existing in spite of not being visible, hidden in shadow.  In the exposed part of the moon, I see more shadow regions and think of how there are things that are not so deeply hidden, but hidden none-the-less.  All of this makes me think of human consciousness and our journey of self/SELF discovery.  Something must exist if it is to be discovered.

As one takes on the challenge of uncovering one’s own mystery, there is a sense that there is something there to uncover.  We want to know who we are, what we are and why we are.  Just to have these questions lets one know that there are answers.  If there were no answers then we would have a sense of acceptance of the fullness of ourselves as we see ourselves, there would be no wondering.

It is this consciousness of the existence of more that has led humans to dig deeper into not only the self but into all things animate and inanimate, search for more and more and more, hoping to arrive at a core.  This journey has taken us to the smallest particles of existence we can find, particles so small we can’t really see them,  but only know of them because of their patterns of energy and energy displacement.

And so, I continue to look at the moon and wonder, not only about the moon, the universe and God; but also about myself.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 9, 2011 at 4:37 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good advice on the subject from Rilke:

    Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.

    From: “Letters to a Young Poet,”

    John Ferric

    August 10, 2011 at 11:11 am

    • I love picking up my copy of this book and reading – 🙂 ThanksJohn,

      rgl

      August 16, 2011 at 9:25 pm


Leave a Reply

