Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Happy Coincidence? Or Synchronicty

with 2 comments

Full moon, August 2011

For a change I was able to have clear skies the night of a full moon.  I have to say I am quite pleased at the quality of image and the detail provided by my camera.  As I am writing this, I am in Toronto at my son’s home and everyone is sleeping.  Somehow my internal clock has made the time change and I am up at my typical early hour though it is still “night” back in Saskatchewan.  I have an interesting day ahead of me as I am meeting up with one of my readers, Dr. Urspo, who, as synchronicity would have it, is also going to be in Toronto later this morning.

Synchronicity is real.  I know that many would say that there is no such phenomenon, but merely happy coincidences, random chance.  I planned my trip to Toronto with intentions that had nothing to do with psychology or this blog site.  Dr. Urspo made his plans based on his agenda which had no knowledge of my being in Toronto, nor even the idea of meeting up with a fellow blogger.  The two separate planning events are not connected in terms of cause and effect  or causality.  Dr. Urspo found out about my being in Toronto for these next few days through a different blog site which led to our arrangements to meet later today.

The synchronicity is the acausal arrangement of physical possibilities to provide this opportunities, not the fact of the actual meeting which takes deliberate set of actions on both of our parts.  What makes the arrangement of physical possibilities significant enough to be called synchronistic rather than just chance is the fact that there is an aspect of psychological meaningfulness involved.  For a good definintion (quick) look at the Wikipedia article on synchronicity.  Of course, the essay by Jung is much more interesting if you have that on hand.

How psychologically significant is this to either Dr. Urspo or myself?  I don’t have the answer yet, that will come, either consciously or unconsciously.  What I can say is that there is something moving beneath the surface that is larger than the puny intentions of mere mortals.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There were many reasons for me going from Self/object relations psychology to Jungian psychology. Synchronicity was one of them.
    I too am curious to see ‘where this goes’ now we have met. What minor ripple will this become, thanks to synchronicity.
    I shan’t worry, for I will see.

    Urspo

    August 16, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    • The meeting has definitely opened a portal which leads to a place we would not have ever gone otherwise. Choices made, paths taken. Now to see where this path takes both of us. Gracias.

      rgl

      August 16, 2011 at 9:41 pm


Leave a Reply

