Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Making a Big Noise

leave a comment »

This little finch was very cooperative is posing for me early yesterday morning in the greater Toronto area.  I was walking with my youngest grandson, when this little guy began to sing with all of its energy.  The finch was making its presence felt regardless of its size or its importance in the weightier matters of the world.

I often wonder about my own significance in the bigger picture.  Thinking is a bit of a problem when it comes to the bigger picture as the self can feel dwarfed by the expanse of time, the hugeness of the universe and normal self-doubts that are part and parcel of being a normal human.  I realise that in fifty years from now this blog site will be silent, I will have long been missing in action from the lives of those who remain who have been part of the circle in which I lived.  But rather than being overwhelmed by the prospect of annihilation, I continue to sing my song to the universe regardless of who might be listening.  Unlike this bird, my consciousness tells me that there is no annihilation, only transformation.  I know that nothing is really lost, that the whole is always there and always will be there – indestructible, inviolable.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 16, 2011 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

