Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Coffee and Conversation

with one comment

Starbucks coffee and building friendship

I got to meet another of my blogger friends who is Jungian analyst working in the greater Toronto area.  Brian and I spent a good two hours chatting about blogging, Jungian Psychology and Nietzsche’s influence on Carl Jung.  When the evening was over, I felt that our friendship was taken to another level.  There is something about face-to-face contact that deepens a relationship.  I think Buber would say that it is in the eyes.  The eyes take relationship out of the head and into the soul, change relationship to an “I-Thou” dynamic.  It’s amazing how a cup of coffee can serve as good excuse for even better conversation.  Thanks to our server who took this photo of us.

 

I have to admit that the time spent the past ten days in the greater Toronto area has been a precious gift as I got to meet two of my on-line friends who share a passion for Jungian psychology, blogging and making a difference.  That I was able to spend so much time with my youngest grandson was the greatest of gifts I received during these ten days.  I guess I could say that it was a time of celebration of some of the men in my life including my son and nephew, Tracey, and a young boy who will one day be a man.

But now, it is time to also celebrate the feminine.  Today my wife will join me to share in being with our family here, share in being parent and grandparent, before we fly off together of another year as lecturers in China.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow – I had just been thinking about how I haven’t, as yet, had the opportunity to meet any online friends face-to-face, and then I discovered this post. I’m envious!

    Seth Mullins

    August 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm


Leave a Reply

