Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Detours On The Journey

with 2 comments

Tall ship in Toronto Harbour, August 2011

I saw this tall ship at anchor in the harbour while walking in downtown Toronto a few days ago.  I took the photo thinking I might find a place here for it at some point over the week.  Finally, I got around to the photo and got it ready for posting here.  The next part, what to say, was the hard part.  I was wordless and so left the post unfinished, actually unstarted other that the photo.  Then after a morning spent playing with my grandson and then doing a bit of last minute shopping for gifts for colleagues in China, I returned ready to write these words.

The image makes me think of my self, at least the ego aspect of my self.  I have reached a point in my life where I can begin to find words to answer the question, “Who am I?”  I know that I am a male biological being; I know that I am a person in relationship to others by blood, by friendship and by community; I know that I am a person that has depth which includes much that has yet to be discovered – three masts:  ego, others and shadow.  Without realising it at first, my journey has always had these three masts.

My journey is not so different from the journey taken by anyone or everyone.  The journey is one into the unknown which is not much different than setting forth on a voyage on the sea.  The journey is all that exists and all that is important.  The journey requires that we be ever watchful of the stuff beneath the surface.  Ignorance of the depths can lead to shipwrecks.  Seeing this photo makes me think of a journey made long ago, that of Odysseus.

I set out for a destination which I am certain is the place I am supposed to go only to find myself taking detours because of the things that life throws at us.  Plans I make  soon find themselves scrapped.  And taking the detour I soon realise that I am where I am supposed to be.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The way you write makes a potentially-complex theme palpable…I see a lot of myself in that ship with its three masts, too: Some aspects that I understand and others that I can only vaguely sense and haven’t yet really encountered. Onward into the unknown!

    Seth Mullins

    August 27, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    • Seth, I appreciate your taking the time to post a comment here/ I am thankful that my words have some resonance, some worth for you. I truly hope you continue to come, to read and to bring your words in response. Thank you.

      rgl

      August 27, 2011 at 7:55 pm


Leave a Reply

