Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

In Praise of Dawn’s Golden Light

leave a comment »

Early morning sunlight in Sunshine Garden in ChangZhou, China

As I was wondering about today’s post earlier today, I looked out my window and saw sun highlighting the new growth on the trees nearby.  This new growth will turn into delicate yellow flowers before turning into seed pods in shades of gold and rust.  I quickly grabbed my camera and opened the window so that I could capture the moment and bring it here.

I love the early morning hours.  The light is rich and allows me to wander with my imagination into a more magical world, a mythical world.  The light also provides me with a portal to my interior world as strange as that might seem.  I find it interesting that in Canada which is night when China is day, I would get up usually between 5 and 6 without an alarm clock.  It was as if my body sensed that the magical time was approaching and I needed to get up.  When I changed from my home on the prairies to two weeks in Toronto, (two hours earlier in time according to the clock) I again was getting up at the same time.  And now, twelve hours difference in time from Toronto, I again was getting up between 5 and 6 in the morning.  Interesting.  Jet lag fatigue is almost banished, but jet lag didn’t prevent me from waking just before dawn breaks.  It is as if my spirit needs to be present at this magical time.

Lesson preparation for a new year at the university is keeping me busy and focused for the most part.  Once the main preparatory work has been done I will wander more with my camera to look again at China and this city of ChangZhou through my camera lens, with a Jungian filter.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

September 4, 2011 at 8:29 am

Leave a Reply

