Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Darkness and Light and Paradoxes

with 2 comments

The sun gets to be too much for some people. It hurts the eyes if one is sensitive to light. For some, there is a strong desire not to be “tainted” by the sunlight which will make one “darker” in appearance. For others, there is a need to dance, to bask and to bronze in the sunshine.  I belong to this latter group. I love sunshine, I love being bathed in the sun’s rays and seeing my body darken. But of course, I am on guard to make sure that I don’t stay too much in the sunshine and burn.

As always, I see beneath this physical layer of thought and experience into another layer and wonder. To stay out of the sunshine is to have the body stay at its whitest possible state, untainted. If I thing of the sun as symbolic of logos I see that if one steers away from logos, or consciousness, one remains unconscious. And here the imagination gets confused for I have always associated white with consciousness.  Yet in this layer, white is a fleeing from consciousness, staying unformed, unchanged, undifferentiated. To stay in the sunshine is to darken.

Bringing light into the inner world is to darken in the outer world. It seems to be a paradox, a contradiction. But, I find myself digging deeper into the image to find more. And then I think of balance. There is always some sort of balance at work with the psyche, not always a balance that obeys my sense or understanding of what that balance should be. There is only so much and no more of anything.

Nothing is ever really created or destroyed – just shifting of places and spaces and time. In terms of consciousness, one is either conscious (aware) of some psychic fact of one’s self or one isn’t. As one uncovers the unknown of one’s self, on becomes less unconscious and more conscious. The psychic facts of self remain the same. The fullness of self remains, only one is more aware of that self. There is no rightness or wrongness involved.

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The body likes homeostasis. The psyche reflects this – no extremes or black and white. This ‘law of balance’ is one of the more attractive truisms of Jungian psychology – at least for me!

    Urspo

    September 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    • And that is what I like about Jungian psychology.

      rgl

      September 23, 2011 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

