Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Photography as Mindfulness and as Meditation

with 2 comments

A meditative study - the golden rose

Taking photos is just the first part of my passion for photography. Once the photo is taken and it has survived the culling process, it waits its turn for further consideration. For example, this photo of a rose that I took last week. It has patiently waited for the week as though knowing I would come back to it as I had full intentions at the moment I took the photo of bringing it here to the blog site for a reflective commentary. And, as I wondered what I talk of today, I thought of my subject of yesterday, meditation. I realised that I meditate in a variety of ways including being mindful of the world as I walk through life.

I saw this rose and felt pulled to take yet another photo of a rose. Before taking the photo, I stood silently for a moment in thoughtless appreciation of the rose, its colours, the light that embraced the rose, and I noted my state of relaxation. When my centre felt calmness I took the photo knowing that life had entered into the picture in the form of the bee. I was certain I had captured the vibrancy of the bee’s presence when I took the photo. I took only the one photo and then moved on. The sense of all being right was strong within me.

Before writing here, I approach a photo and sit silently with it; it becomes a moment of presence, the photo’s presence, and my presence. I allow my ego to be silent and learn to listen to the silence. Being mindful of the image, I begin to be filled with silent words which then find their way here to the web page.

When all is done, I leave the work with the same level of peace that I attain when I leave a session of meditation. When this happens, I know I have truly practiced another meditation that leaves its gifts.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great picture and Post Robert and also great symbolism of the Rose and the Bee.

    Opa Bear

    October 12, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    • Thank you for the positive comments, Opa. I do appreciate all your comments 🙂

      rgl

      October 12, 2011 at 9:29 pm


Leave a Reply

