Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Quest For Meaning and Connection

with 4 comments

Among the Missing - Morag Joss

I am reading a new book via my library in Canada on my e-reader. The book is not too interesting so far, but the following words caught my attention:

“Events must reach forward to meet their consequences, consequences must throw backward in time bridges linking themselves to causes; where else is the meaning of all the things that happen in the world to come from, if not from connection with what happened before and what will happen next? How unbearable otherwise, if human activity were no more than a succession of haphazard little incidents exploding at random all the time over the planet, arising from and leading to nothing. The commission of a single action surely sets in motion somewhere a yearning, a distant and reluctant maybe, for its outcome eventually to have a point. However oblique or delusory the link with pas or future, the connection must be attempted, for one thing must be seen to lead from or to another; we prefer a rickety and unreliable bridge between between events, if that is all we can have, to none at all.” (Morag Joss, Among the Missing, page 36)

The need for meaning, the quest for meaning; the need for connection with life, with others,with one’s own soul – these are the things that are vital if we are to be whole, to be truly human.

I won’t becoming back here with a book review as I am not that interested in writing book reviews. Reading novels is a distraction at best for me. I don’t watch TV for a distraction when I have had enough of reading and research and writing. Is the book worth reading? I think so, if only because it contained the above words that connected.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 20, 2011 at 10:01 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert,
    I agree with Giegerich that the “search” for meaning in our lives is a contradiction. The “meaning” of our life is our life. We, are every moment, immersed in meaning. I have sent the Giegerich essay “The End of Meaning and the Birth of Man” to you via email. I see no way to attach here. The first 3 pages cover this topic. I do expect you to read the entire 58 page essay. The test will be next Wednesday, 25 essay answer questions!!!

    John Ferruc

    October 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    • The reading is underway – great read so far as I am about a third of the way into the article. Is it alright to do the test as an open-book test? 🙂

      rgl

      October 22, 2011 at 7:29 am

  2. Of course it is open book. You can even call Urspo for additional assistance. Glad you are finding a great read.

    John Ferric

    October 22, 2011 at 8:47 am

    • Today’s post “Self as Meaning” draws from the opening page of the essay. I will see how far this takes me. Thanks again for the PDF which I have put on this site for others to read.

      rgl

      October 22, 2011 at 10:04 am


Leave a Reply

